We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

Bison Creek Ranch Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bayside, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you're not in a hurry and want some good home cooked food the Bison Creek Ranch Cafe is perfect. Both my husband and I had Edna's fried chicken and it was fantastic. Included in our dinner was a delicious homemade turkey noodle soup, a salad and homemade huckleberry ice-cream for desert.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Bison Creek is located a few miles outside of East Glacier, a couple of miles down a gravel road. Look for the sign, since the restaurant is not located right off of the highway.
The restaurant itself looks as if it is being run out of the back of somebody's house, and, to a certain extent, I suspect it is. But this only gives the place a more "homey" feel to it.
The food here is all freshly made and well prepared, but is also fairly simplistic. This is home-style comfort food. The menu is fairly limited: burgers, chicken, steak, and fish, but the true value comes in what is received with every meal. Bread (plus a muffin on our visit), soup and salad, veggie, and ice cream - all of which is homemade - comes with every meal.
The food is good, but not great. My wife's fried chicken was not properly drained out of the fryer and was somewhat greasy with a soggy bottom. My chicken-fried steak was also a bit on the greasy side. Mashed potatoes and soup, on the other hand, were quite tasty.
Service was decent. Attentive, but not overly so, and a bit scattered as the restaurant became busier. Plus the owner's 2-3 yr old kid was drooling and bopping about all over the dining room. While I don't have a problem with kid's, I'm not excited about having the honor to pay to babysit the owner's child while they are in the back.
Overall, this is a good restaurant, but not a "very good" one. It is one of the better choices in the area and is well worth the short drive from E Glacier Park.
Of note, Bison Creek doesn't have a liquor license, but they are BYOB.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

food was excellent, fresh with several choices. Definitely worth the drive and very reasonable. Meals were homemade, salad was fresh and the pie was awesome. I would return tere if ever in the area again and have been searching for the pie recipe since returning home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Out of the Way Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is just off the Hiway #2 west of East Glacier a few miles. It is well worth the trip, good food home style, all side dishes included even desert, for a fair price. The Thursday night we were there was busy and only one waiter due to all help returing to school, we were not in a hurry but was near 2-hour's to get our food. Again, if you are in a hurry during this time you might not want to wait? Anyway all around satisfaction with this cafe. The Help came out to check on how everything was, which is nice. Would recommend when in East side of Glacier Park.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homemade Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a family friendly restaurant a few miles out of town. It is worth the short drive! Everything is homemade and our dinners included soup, salad, and huckleberry ice cream for dessert! The chicken fried steak was tasty and the real mashed potatoes were great! The service was fast and friendly and my daughter loved the dogs and horses wandering the property I would go back again next time I'm in East Glacier.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMS84081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bison Creek Ranch Cafe also viewed

East Glacier Park, MT
East Glacier Park, MT
 

Been to Bison Creek Ranch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing