We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistle Stop - CLOSED

Whistle Stop
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Goodyear
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Yes, the service was slow, but the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Bring a few extra minutes, but the food was good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank xspeediant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are in Dillon this is the place to eat. The food is great, especially the fries. We found ourselves in Dillon by mistake and were extremely hungry. After a fantastic meal we ask our waitress for some information about getting the West Yellowstone. She informed us not only of the best road, but also gave us a good idea of how long it would take.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacintoAguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, TX
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Didn't expect much, was staying the Best Western next door and their "Great Breakfast" is a complete joke, so went over to the Whistle Stop. Coffee was better than expected, and the Eggs Benedict was a true surprise. Can get it with ham or sausage patty, I ordered ham and it came with sausage, so mentioned it and they quickly corrected it. The waitress was cheery and efficient so gave her a 50% tip. Not terribly fancy, but the food was much better than expected, service excellent, would return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseFlicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Diner in Dillon, Montana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

For the past month or two I have found the Whistle Stop in Dillon, Montana to be one of the most enjoyable dining experiences of mine. I am recently widowed so when I eat alone, I want the food to be very tasty, the service people like the waitresses to be very friendly and serving and the place to be comfortable and clean. The Whistle Stop has been all of those things with prices that are fair and competitive. I used to be a Greyhound Bus driver and for many decades was a meteorologist with the National Weather Service. I traveled nationwide eating out. Dillon is a small town located almost in the middle of nowhere and it is important to find a decent place to eat, if one is to dine out. I not only eat several times at the Whistle Stop but have had female escorts join me there and they have enjoyed the experience. Family and friends from out of town have eaten with me there and enjoyed it. I hope it remains an icon in Dillon, Montana. MICHAEL EDWARD MHOON, meteorologist and Southern Baptist Pastor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

You won't regret it.

At the Whistle Stop, I felt at home.

I walked in late, about 45 minutes after they closed, and they threw a hamburger on for me and gave me a salad to go, too.

I spoke with Chaz, the manager/owner, about the tough day I'd had and we had a great conversation.

This is a man that says things like "happiness is a choice." He might not be perfect, but he does his best. And I think that could be said of the Whistle Stop. It might not have all five-star reviews, but it doesn't need them. Its greatest value is more than good food: it's the good people.

Get a taste of home at the Whistle Stop, and say hi to Chaz for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank atchristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing