We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey train close-by!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glaciers' Mountain Resort
washington
1 review
“Noisey train close-by!”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The train whistles blow throughout the night and it is so close to the cabin that you feel the vibtration. There is an inefficient air conditioner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We saw the vacancy sign on the road and gave these lovely log cabins a try. It was a lucky for us we got the last cabin which seemed to be the smallest but was fine for us.

The setting was very picturesque. The owners obviously look after the gardens very well and the mountains of Glacier National park could be seen in the distance.

The cabin itself was well maintained and had some very nice touches. The kitchen area was equipped with a large fridge, huge micowave and large oven. There was a coffee maker big enough for 12 cups and the cupboards were stocked with enough plates etc for about 10. The utensils supplied everything you could need. The barbeque on the porch was also a great touch. Probably the nicest, most thoughtful thing was the little basket of goodies on the counter. It contained a small pack of cookies, granola bars and microwave popcorn. Some times its the small details you can appreciate most.

The beds were comfortable, even the pull out sofa bed the kids slept on. The only slight draw back was the trains near by sounding their horns throughout the night. It wasn't enough to stop you sleeping but did disturb mine.

In summary a good location and a friendly place to be. Another lucky one for us.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — the train noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed three nights to be able to visit Glacier National Park. The in-park accomodations were full, but we lucked out in staying at these chalets instead. There were far fewer mosquitos, and it was much quieter than the Lake Macdonald/ Apgar area. It was also a very convenient distance from the park, but also a very convenient distance to groceries, food, and cheaper gas.
The grounds and the chalets themselves were absolutely immaculate, and could not have been more comfortable. Even though the cost was a little spendy, it was well worth it, although the comfort almost made it hard to get going in the mornings and actually leave for the park. The kitchen was very well stocked, and some snacks were even provided. In the cabin, there was also plenty of informational literature about the nearby and surrounding areas, activities, and dining. There was even free wi-fi.
I was glad to see some of the east side of the park, although in general, the area was a bit too touristy for my tastes. If you're looking for a place on the east side of the park, this is a quieter altenative to the in-park or East Glacier options.

  • Liked — charming grounds and interior, convenience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank t-phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed one night after staying up the road at Great Northern for 4 days. This was a great improvement. Would stay again, if we are around the area. Nice people!! Cute little cottages, with everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeSalem_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cty PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

We just got back from a trip to Glacier. We were looking for a nice place to stay and couldn't find anything that looked suitable. So we were heading to Whitefish when we spotted a sign for Glaciers' Mountain Resort (406-387-5712) just off the main road to Glacier Natl. Park. I am surprised no one else has posted a review for them. There are 5 individual log cabins surrounded by beautiful gardens. Each log cabin has a gas free standing fireplace in the living room which also has a futon. There is a full kitchen,d/w,full stove,coffee maker, microwave and an eating area with 4 chairs. In the separate bedroom is a queen bed and a full bath. The porch overlooks the mountains and has a bench,cafe table and a gas grill.
It was immaculately clean, had a gift basket on the dining room table with goodies in it and had vaulted ceilings and sat. TV. All the furnishings are log and the bed was very comfortable. The owner Jo-Ann was so pleasant and gave us some pointers on where to go in Glacier. The west entrance to Glacier is about 6 miles from the cabins.
There are trains that go thru that area so you do hear train whistles but they are off in the distance. We are sorry we only had 1 night to spend in this cozy cabin and will be booking several nights the next time we visit.

Helpful?
9 Thank LEFTEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coram
5.1 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
304 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glaciers' Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaciers' Mountain Resort

Property: Glaciers' Mountain Resort
Address: 1385 Old Hwy 2 East, P.O. Box 389, Coram, MT 59913
Location: United States > Montana > Coram
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a beautifully landscaped setting in comfortable, relaxed surroundings within minutes to Glacier National Park and year ‘round adventure activities on Glacier Park’s West Side. 5 individual unique cabins are on 10 pristine acres located just off US Highway 2, and only 6 miles to Glacier National Park - either by car or paved bike path. Glacier Mountain Resort is in a private setting for guests looking for lodging with a personal touch. If your vacation is centered around exploring this unique area, you are within minutes of area activities and attractions. Glacier Mountain Resort is an ideal place to return to after a day of adventure; to kick back, relax on your private deck and plan your next day's adventure. If you prefer time to read, write, photograph or other more solitary pursuits, you will enjoy the space, privacy and inspiring natural ambience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing