We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counrty Charm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City High Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Counrty Charm”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Awesome place to stay. Fun & relaxing! Breathe taking views. Our family of four had been on the road for six days traveling, visiting friends & family throughout Utah & Montana and taking the long way to Yellowstone. We had no reservations anywhere. We just drove until we needed to stop. Drove into Cooke City not knowing where we're going to stay and meet Brandon the new owner of High Country Motel. He was awesome and friendly. Planned on one night, ended up staying two. Great deal. Only minutes away from Yellowstone. No cell phone service anywhere in town, High Country had free Wifi. The bon fire was fun. Hot tub amazing after hiking through Yellowstone. Rooms where like staying at Grandma’s house without the knick knacks, great country charm, clean and comfortable. We would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMarguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
44
48
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at the high country the other night and it was great! The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our questions about the area. Our room was very clean and comfortable in such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The owner was really friendly, and we had a lot of fun hanging out by the teepee. Room was comfortable, hot tub was great, and as I said, people were really friendly. Its not the fanciest place around, but it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spenceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all Cooke city is located in a spectacular setting, and is the perfect place to explore the Lamar valley and Northeast of Yellowstone.

We stayed at the High Country one night in late May (low season).
Benji (owner or staff?) was a really nice guy, very laidback and easy going. We got upgraded to even better rooms, very large, one of them with a kitchen and a great fireplace !
In the morning we came back at checkout time from early-morning wildlife watching , but he said it was no problem if we checked out later so we could first have breakfast in Silver Gate.

The rooms were not brand-new, but were nice, very large and the beds are very clean. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The room that is closest to the street (7 or 8?) is very nice with a kitchen and a fireplace. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travel to Cooke City a few weekends in the winter/spring to do some skiing, and this is the only place we stay. Lounging in the outside hot tub, looking up at Republic Peak, Town Hill, and the Fin after a long ski tour is my little slice of heaven. We have stayed in a refinished room and one of the cabins, and they were both well maintained and clean. To all the whiners on here: this isn't the Super 8 off the highway-there's no maid cart with fresh towels to come clean your room every day-but Benji, the solo employee who maintains this place day in and day out on his own, is there to take care of anything you need. This is the motel experience I wish was in every small town in Montana. Rumor has it they won't be open next winter, and we are already worried about where to stay in Cooke on our ski trips! Thanks for the great spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad_mt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose M, Owner at Cooke City High Country Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hey, We have no intention of closing next winter, so no worries. Benji does rock and we are sorry he won't be there anymore, but has assured us he will be popping in from time to time to help out. My husband and I will be taking the helm. I am glad that you like the Motel because we love it and we will see you next winter, Paige, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been travelling all over Montana since coming into retirement and nothing beats hitting the open road with very little set plans. This mentality settled me right into Cooke City for the first time years ago during one of my short trips to see the Beartooths. I decided to try out the High Country, I think I'm just predisposed to like small rustic cabins over the alternative big box hotels. Anyway, my instincts did not disappoint. The rooms were clean and comfortable, while the staff was present at a moments notice and very knowledgeable of the immediate area. This is what has kept me coming back to the High Country every time I venture back through Cooke City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I traveled through yellowstone this past weekend and had the pleasure of staying here. I did a little poking around in the city before settling on the high country. What sold me was how helpful and courteous the staff was. They reassured me that if i needed anything they would provide it to me. They also suggested some local spots for good food and drinks. I stayed in one of the cabins, and it was very clean and orderly, not to mention the beautiful views of the surrounding mountains that it provided. Overall, i know that if I come back to Cooke City, I will be staying with the high country.

Room Tip: If going solo, or with a partner the cabins are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandHaven04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.2 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
134 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City High Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City High Country Motel

Property: Cooke City High Country Motel
Address: US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL AND CABINS. We offer clean comfortable cabins and rooms at afordable rates. We have all new queen beds and new carpet. We offer everthing from your basic room to large suits with full kitchens. We even have 2 CROW TIPIS for the kids to play in. We are located just 4 miles from YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK and near the world famous BEARTOOTH PASS. See you in paradise. Thanks, The High Country ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City High Country Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing