We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay in Cooke City.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City High Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay in Cooke City.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

While a bit on the pricy side for what you get, this is a comfortable, clean, somewhat rustic motel right in the center of Cooke City. I've stayed here a number of times over the last few years, and will do so again.

Make sure to eat at the Beartooth Cafe, and have breakfast at the little coffee shop a couple of doors up the street from the High Country. The General Store is also well worth a look.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is small - with a very squeaky bed. Cabins 2 and 3 are larger and more comfortable. The down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
48
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here in June.

The cabin was lovely and comfortable with TV and the manager and his lovely dog were very friendly.

Cooke City is a great little place, quiet and very friendly and the High Country Motel is now my absolute choice to stay in when I return to Montana and Yellowstone. I will be chosing here over staying in the park in future.

Room Tip: I was in cabin 1 which is on the road side and it was lovely - no noise at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowgirlCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a nice cabin, but it really needs more to offer. There was plenty of room to put in a nice table and a coffee pot. The cabin is kind of bare bones. Very tiny shower.
We were very disappointed in the person that checked us in. We were just told "if you have any problems let us know". Not a very nice personality at all.
If we go back to Cooke City - we will try some where else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hey you're in a town with zero cell reception, 80 miles to the next city, it's not the Hilton but the people make the place. Bonner the black lab met me at the door and his owner (sorry can't remember his name) was the most helpful hotel manager guy you could ask for.

Rooms were not amazing but had everything we needed and were quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperDaveA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have been coming to Cooke City for many years now on snowboard trips and have stayed in other hotels and rented other full homes, but after this winter i will only stay at one place. Benji and Clint at the High Country Motel are some of the friendliest people in town and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and then some. The cabins are very cozy and some even have kitchens. Not only that but they are extremely clean. The Hot Tub is one of the nicest i have ever been in, with a cd player and pop up speakers. Thanks High Country for a great place to hang out this winter, I look forward to many more nights!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great place to stay if your in Cooke. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms have a kitchenette, wifi, tv, awesome clean beds, and a hot tub close by. What more could you need? I plan to come back to the High Country every time I'm back in Cooke.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Awesome friendly feeling, clean comfortable rooms. Heard about this place from friend who frequent it. Staff is extremely helpful, and willing to go the extra mile! This will be my new home away from home when I come to the area- can't wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: awesome hot tub, private friendly vibe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiezmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
1.8 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
145 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City High Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City High Country Motel

Property: Cooke City High Country Motel
Address: US Highway 212, PO Box 1096, Cooke City, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL AND CABINS. We offer clean comfortable cabins and rooms at afordable rates. We have all new queen beds and new carpet. We offer everthing from your basic room to large suits with full kitchens. We even have 2 CROW TIPIS for the kids to play in. We are located just 4 miles from YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK and near the world famous BEARTOOTH PASS. See you in paradise. Thanks, The High Country ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City High Country Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing