We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a 3 or a 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beartooth Cafe

Beartooth Cafe
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
WA State
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Could be a 3 or a 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a toss-up whether to rate them a 3 or a 4. Relative to the alternatives in Cooke City they earn AT LEAST a 4. Against a larger scale I would put them at a 3 – 3-1/2.

Ambiance was nice (sit outside if you can in any way). The food was good. The trout was quite good. Filleted to perfection without a single bone. Maybe a bit heavy on the breading but very tasty. The ribs were good but not outstanding.

If rated on the desserts alone, they would earn a 4! The chocolate mousse and poppy seed rum cake both were excellent and each would have been enough to share with two. They were so good that we each finished our own however.
Our server was pleasant, personable, knowledgeable and prompt. Great job!

If you are having dinner in Cooke City, this is the place to have dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    152
    36
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is a great place to eat. a nice variety on the menu. loved the gyros sandwich at lunch!! steaks were great at dinner. extensive beer list with something to please every beer palate. the chocolate burrito dessert is outstanding!! had it twice. the owners are a lovely young couple who work hard to provide this great quality food. the service is a little slow some times (peak dinner hours) but then you are on vacation so relax. the servers vary in friendliness - most of them are younger kids and that was a summer job for them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner in Cooke City,MT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed with friends in a cabin and walked to the restaurant. It is a cozy place with friendly people. I ordered meat lasagna and was amazed at the result - I would love to have the recipe! My husband also ordered the same - it was exceptional!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We dined here twice during our stay in the Cooke City and Yellowstone area. The menu offered choices to fit any palate. The salads were especially wholesome and well prepared. Service was friendly and knowledgable. We enjoyed the Alaska Amber. Love the outdoor seating if you can get it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BikeCouple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stop & eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch in Cooke city, very nice atmosphere & good food! Great place to stop & re-fuel with food & drinks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beartooth Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Beartooth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing