We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent two nights in March. Town was quiet and there was still quite a bit of snow on the ground. The room was perfect in every way! The location, lodge owners, amenities and hot tub made the stay absolutely perfect! Can't wait to stay during another season and experience it again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sa_jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks so much tor taking time to give us a review! We look forward to your next visit with us! Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stopped in cooke city on a rainy day in yellowstone. It was such a cute town we decided to stay. We approached this lodge at approx 2 pm and after 20 minutes of walking around the building, ringing doorbells and knocking on the door the manager? owner? finally came out. We requested a room for the night and he said, "I see you have a dog we don't take animals sorry" and slammed the door in our face. I was shocked. We have traveled the entire country with my NON SHEDDING seizure dog. I opened the door and said, "you must be confused as he is a service dog" and he said, "I am not confused I don't take animals period.

We couldn't believe how RUDE he was. We almost left cooke city completely but instead we decided to make one more stop at high country motel where we met the owners Paige and her wonderful husband and not only did they accommodate us they APOLOGIZED FOR elk horns actions. If you want a real experience in Cooke City go down the street to HIGH COUNTRY MOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Quijibow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are so glad you were able to find a "Pet Friendly" accommodation in Cooke City! We have a NO PET POLICY as we explained to you. We have this policy because animals (pets and service dogs) have hair and pet dander and customers want a allergy free room! Enough Said!
Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTM
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here near the end of the fall season (they appeared to be rolling up the sidewalks in preparation for the Oct 1, 2013 Govt. shutdown by the Neg-o-publicans).
As is my usual rating system, the room, bathroom and linens were clean, the beds were comfortable, the heating/cooling worked fine, the outside noise level was quiet, . . . just what you need to sleep comfortably in preparation for the next day.
As usual, we stayed in the park until the owls went to bed, so we arrived late. Our key and a note were waiting for us because the owners had gone to dinner (at the same restaurant we'd planned on eating at). Not a big problem, it was covered.
Rates were more reasonable than I'd experienced in other "gateway towns".
We didn't have time to chat with the owners, but my conversations over the phone with them while making reservations were friendly and professional.
Definitely will stay here again when we're "Cooke'n"

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor in the back. It was quiet. Couldn't hear the traffic or railroa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our town. We are so sorry we didn't get the chance to chat with you! Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time.

It had started to snow as we left Old Faithful for our journey up here and we were quite worried that we wouldn't make it (we're British and don't really do snow!). Thankfully though, we arrived safely.

Having made it to Cooke City we were so pleased that we were warmly welcomed and allowed to check-in a little bit early. First impressions were that this is a tidy, well maintained and attractive Lodge. Our room (upstairs, far left) was large, cosy and well equipped with a fridge, microwave and TV. The view from the window towards the mountains was beautiful.

Cooke City, despite it's title as a city is in fact pretty small so it's perfectly possible to walk to all the places in town in less than 10 minutes.

Cooke City is a great place to stay to explore the Beartooth Highway and the Lamar Valley and if returning to the area we would almost certainly chose to stay again at the Elk Horn Inn.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which I think was probably quieter than one downstairs and being higher mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Yellowstone! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If we have our rooms ready we are glad to let our guests check- in early. We always try to be welcoming to our guests and give them information to help them enjoy their visit to Cooke City. Thanks for taking time to give us a review! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent 1 night here after driving Beartooth Highway and before going into Yellowstone National Park at the northeast entrance. Cooke City, ha, ha, is hardly a City, not even a town, about 2 blocks along the highway. Clean comfortable place to stay. Run by owners and it shows. Little signs everywhere in the room telling you everything you need to know. There are only 8 rooms so book early. We had an upstairs room at the end which was very quiet but you do have to carry your bags up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel in our "City"! LOL Yes, our motel is owner run and managed so we really appreciate your kind words! Thanks for staying with us! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Elk Horn Lodge. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and it had everything you would expect in a small town like Cooke City. The owners were very helpful in telling us about the park and restaurants. If I am ever in Cooke City again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkhopper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We truly appreciate your business! Thanks for the kind words, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our third stay at the Elk Horn and we stayed for five nights in Cabin 2. Once again everything was exceptionally clean and well run. The cabin is very cosy and comfortable with plenty of room and you feel really at home here. The beds are really comfy and there is small kitchenette which is really useful.

Jeff and Lisa are lovely genuine people who make you feel very welcome and we enjoy staying here more and more with each visit. Cooke City is a unique and fun place to stay and we will always stay at the Elk Horn when we return.

Thanks again Jeff and Lisa - wish we could get back next year but our drive way beckons (at the moment haha!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It's wonderful to have repeat customers! We know you could choose anywhere and we are so pleased that you return to stay with us year after year! What a compliment for customers to say they feel at home here! Thanks for continuing to stay with us. Who are you kidding?? Since posting this response you have already booked for next year! See you in September 2014! Thanks Jeff and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing