We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at the north end of Yellowstone”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay at the north end of Yellowstone”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The owners greet you personally and the condition of the room and amenities show that they take a personal interest in your comfort. They have restaurant opening and closing times posted and offered several suggestions for dining, tailored to my interests. Of course, one could stay here just a couple of days and eat at every single restaurant and cafe. This is a very small town.

Check out the historic and authentic general store, over 100 years in operation.

The room and bed were very comfortable. Nice decor, though it is moose-oriented at the "elk" horn lodge. :) The owners are BIKER friendly and supply bike towels in every room (car owners and snow mobilers would find them handy, too). Just ask if you need more. The wifi signal is powerful, which was a plus for using Talkatone. There is NO cell signal anywhere in town. So plan on using one of the pay phones around town or using a wifi phone app on a smart phone.

At just under $100 with the tax figured in, this was a fair price for the high season in this area.

Room Tip: Consider the noise of clunky boots on the deck above if you get a first floor room. Not too much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad you noticed that we take personal pride in our rooms and amenities! That is the greatest compliment we can receive! We really appreciate it! Thanks for being our guest and talking time to write us a review! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
87
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed a few days in one of their very nice, big, cozy, quiet and very clean cabins. The owners are helpful and friendly... they make you feeling at home.
When in the area...don't pass that lodge, but stay there!
Well, that's it...no more words, it's even a great place with nice people...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elk Horn Lodge in Cozy Cabin #2! Cabin #2 is located beside the hot tub and is considered "HOME" to some of our repeat customers! We are so glad you felt at home too! As owners that is the nicest compliment that we can receive. Thanks so much for taking time to give us a review! Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Well we were told Cooke City would be an authentic experience but this was something else! A genuine throw back to times gone by - we expected gunslingers or prospectors to turn up for breakfast at a local saloon . The satnav said we had arrived but Cooke City must be the smallest town we have ever been in (a one horse town?) and we are from England for goodness sake where we are used to small.
Elk Horn Lodge was our first stop on our long journey around Yosemite and a good introduction to smaller lodges with personal service. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom and lots of hot water in the shower. The beds were comfortable and the microwave and fridge useful if you bought food or drink at the only authentic groceries store on the main street. Sold everything!! The owner of Elk Horn Lodge advised us of places to eat just up the road (only about one hundred yards cos you would have been out of town if you had gone much further!!) and the food was great!
Overall we had a unique and great experience to introduce us to the whole area, so thanks to the owners of the Lodge and keep up the great work. We would not change a thing about our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are not only a small town but we are the "Coolest Small Town In America"! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Cooke City and also at the Elk Horn Lodge! Hospitality is very important to us! That is what is so great about our business, we get to give our guests the personal touch. We also do all the cleaning, laundry etc.. so your comments are important to let us know how we are doing. Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We really appreciate it! Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontaine, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place to stay in a quaint little town. The owners were extremely helpful in answering all of our questions and the room was very clean. It is located near the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone and Lamar Valley where we saw an abundance of wildlife. Cooke City is a small town but had everything that we needed. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks for helping us make great memories!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytravelers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We really appreciate it! We do live in the "Coolest Small Town in America" and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to keep our rooms as clean as humanly possible and love to make sure our guest experience all that the area has to offer! Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved staying at the Elk Horn Lodge. The room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. Chairs and tables on the front porch were nice for a drink or snack outside. The owners were more than helpful with any need or question. The short drive to the Northeast entrance to Yellowstone and the wonderful Lamar Valley made this a perfect location. Cooke City is unique, but has limited restaurants and shops for those who want more.

Room Tip: Ask for an downstairs room if you have trouble with climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldisle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for being our guests! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our unique little town. The porch is a great place to enjoy the scenery and just unwind while on vacation. Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Elk Horn for 6 nights and it was a great experience, the owners made us feel like were at home, We stayed in the cabins, and it was like stepping back in time with all of the modern conveniences, Hands down one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. The Lodge is located about 4 miles from the park, and within minutes we saw Grizzly Bear, Buffalo, Mule Deer and Sheep. One morning a huge Male Buffalo was grazing about 25 yards from the Lodge, This was a trip of a lifetime and the Elk Horn was a big part of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elk Horn Lodge! It is so nice to see families enjoy their vacation and all this area has to offer. Thanks for letting us be a part of your vacation experience. Thanks, Lisa and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Logan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family run business. Check-in was easy and the owner was very helpful with suggestions and information for the area. We stayed two nights in one of the cabins that I would describe as adequate. It was clean. My biggest complaint was the bed was terribly uncomfortable and noisy. It made loud squeaks and creaks at every movement and was very hard which made for restless nights for me. It had two double beds and a futon that could sleep additional people if needed. It had a small round table with two chairs that were pretty wobbly. It had a small kitchen and dishes, etc were provided. We wanted to stay close to Lamar Valley so we could get up early for wildlife watching. The location was great for this. There are limited places to stay in Cooke City and they are all pricey for what you would normally get.

Room Tip: Could be noisy if close to the hot tub and outside table area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our motel. We value our customers positive feedback as well as any negative feedback so we can address any issues and want you to know we have taken them seriously and are trying our best to resolve them. We appreciate the fact that you chose to stay in a Family run business. Thanks for the kind comments about us being helpful with suggestions and information for the area. We strive to be helpful to our customers and to provide a clean motel and appreciate the fact that you mentioned it. In response to your complaint about the bed being terribly uncomfortable we really wish you would have let us known as we may have been able to make your stay more comfortable. We purchased new medium/firm mattresses in May of 2012. We felt this was the type that would be a good fit for the majority of our customers. We have had lots of reviews and as you can see most customers like our mattresses. We are sorry that you were not one of them. As we take any complaint seriously, my husband and I have both checked the beds for squeaks and creaks and were not able to duplicate those noises you mentioned. We have also asked other customers staying in Cabin 1 about the mattress and any noises that they may make and have not had a complaint. We will continue with this practice. I must also comment on your Room Tip: Could be noisy if close to the hot tub and outside table area. To make a tip about the hot tub being noisy when you were located 45 feet with a cabin between you and the hot tub was not valid I might also add that we close the hot tub area at 9:00 PM and turn it off so it does not run after 9:00 and disturb our guests. I can see where you could assume that the outside table area could be noisy as it is located near Cabin #1 but if guests do get noisy or are out there after 10:00 we will let them know as we live on the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
1.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
145 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing