We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place to stay"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place to stay in a quaint little town. The owners were extremely helpful in answering all of our questions and the room was very clean. It is located near the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone and Lamar Valley where we saw an abundance of wildlife. Cooke City is a small town but had everything that we needed. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks for helping us make great memories!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indytravelers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We really appreciate it! We do live in the "Coolest Small Town in America" and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to keep our rooms as clean as humanly possible and love to make sure our guest experience all that the area has to offer! Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved staying at the Elk Horn Lodge. The room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. Chairs and tables on the front porch were nice for a drink or snack outside. The owners were more than helpful with any need or question. The short drive to the Northeast entrance to Yellowstone and the wonderful Lamar Valley made this a perfect location. Cooke City is unique, but has limited restaurants and shops for those who want more.

Room Tip: Ask for an downstairs room if you have trouble with climbing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emeraldisle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for being our guests! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our unique little town. The porch is a great place to enjoy the scenery and just unwind while on vacation. Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Elk Horn for 6 nights and it was a great experience, the owners made us feel like were at home, We stayed in the cabins, and it was like stepping back in time with all of the modern conveniences, Hands down one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. The Lodge is located about 4 miles from the park, and within minutes we saw Grizzly Bear, Buffalo, Mule Deer and Sheep. One morning a huge Male Buffalo was grazing about 25 yards from the Lodge, This was a trip of a lifetime and the Elk Horn was a big part of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elk Horn Lodge! It is so nice to see families enjoy their vacation and all this area has to offer. Thanks for letting us be a part of your vacation experience. Thanks, Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family run business. Check-in was easy and the owner was very helpful with suggestions and information for the area. We stayed two nights in one of the cabins that I would describe as adequate. It was clean. My biggest complaint was the bed was terribly uncomfortable and noisy. It made loud squeaks and creaks at every movement and was very hard which made for restless nights for me. It had two double beds and a futon that could sleep additional people if needed. It had a small round table with two chairs that were pretty wobbly. It had a small kitchen and dishes, etc were provided. We wanted to stay close to Lamar Valley so we could get up early for wildlife watching. The location was great for this. There are limited places to stay in Cooke City and they are all pricey for what you would normally get.

Room Tip: Could be noisy if close to the hot tub and outside table area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our motel. We value our customers positive feedback as well as any negative feedback so we can address any issues and want you to know we have taken them seriously and are trying our best to resolve them. We appreciate the fact that you chose to stay in a Family run business. Thanks for the kind comments about us being helpful with suggestions and information for the area. We strive to be helpful to our customers and to provide a clean motel and appreciate the fact that you mentioned it. In response to your complaint about the bed being terribly uncomfortable we really wish you would have let us known as we may have been able to make your stay more comfortable. We purchased new medium/firm mattresses in May of 2012. We felt this was the type that would be a good fit for the majority of our customers. We have had lots of reviews and as you can see most customers like our mattresses. We are sorry that you were not one of them. As we take any complaint seriously, my husband and I have both checked the beds for squeaks and creaks and were not able to duplicate those noises you mentioned. We have also asked other customers staying in Cabin 1 about the mattress and any noises that they may make and have not had a complaint. We will continue with this practice. I must also comment on your Room Tip: Could be noisy if close to the hot tub and outside table area. To make a tip about the hot tub being noisy when you were located 45 feet with a cabin between you and the hot tub was not valid I might also add that we close the hot tub area at 9:00 PM and turn it off so it does not run after 9:00 and disturb our guests. I can see where you could assume that the outside table area could be noisy as it is located near Cabin #1 but if guests do get noisy or are out there after 10:00 we will let them know as we live on the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this motel in cooke city, montana, is right outside the eastern gate to yellowstone. tiny cooke city is a delight, and the Elk Horn Lodge is extremely well run, clean, and consistent.
lisa and jeff, the proprietors, run the lodge capably, and are outgoing people generous with their knowledge and experiences.
realize this is not a big-city luxury experience; however, the lodge is neat, clean, comfortable, and has plenty heat and hot water and a genuinely welcoming ambience. to top it all off, lisa directed us to the best little bakery/breakfast spot on earth just up the street, the Bearclaw, which you will not want to miss.
if you are considering staying in cooke city, the Elk Horn Lodge is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

You took our words to heart! We are not the Hilton as we like to say but we offer you a clean comfortable room and lots of hospitality. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking time to let us know how were are doing! Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Friendly, helpful owners. Check-in and out we're a breeze. Lots of helpful tips on restaurants and visiting Yellowstone. Convenient for entering Lamar Valley early morning to view wildlife. Room felt like home with fridge, microwave, "real" towels and sheets (not generic-thin-white-hotel-type). Nice decor and we had rockers on the porch outside our room. I sat there during some showers and it was so relaxing. Cooke city is small, rustic and a step back in time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookecitymt, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for being our guests at the Elk Horn Lodge. We strive to be friendly and helpful and want our guests to feel right at home. Our goal is for everyone to enjoy their stay in our community. Judging from your comments it seems like we are doing these things correctly. Thanks again, Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We (15 people) just returned from a snowmobile trip to Cooke City. What a fantastic experience!! The Elk Horn Lodge is a great place to stay - it is clean, comfortable and the owners are wonderful people. The rooms are very clean and the beds are good. The owners do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. They are friendly, informative and very nice people. They recommended eating places and basically took care of 15 people. The wifi connection was excellent, no cell phone service but pay phone on site. We definitely would recommend this place to others. Thanks to owners - enjoyed meeting you and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing