We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Highly Recommend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Tuppers Plains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sorry it took this long to say thanks for a great stay and all that you done for us. This is one of the top vacations that I have taken. Usually by the time vacation is about to be over I am ready to return to small town Ohio. I did not want to come back. I can see why you are there and after our talk that failure wasn’t an option on your part to making the move. Cindy and I plan to return and we plan to stay at your lodge. You went out of your way to make us feel welcomed and to be sure we had a comfortable stay. Your place is great, very clean and quite accommodating but your friendly open personalities is one that impressed us the most. You don’t find many people that are willing to go out of their way to make us feel welcomed as you folks did. There are a lot of qualities that others in business could learn from you two. The whole town is a must see for anyone traveling in this part of the country. All the business owners that we encountered were very friendly and willing to help. Cooke city is truly one of Americas small towns at its best and a must see for anyone caring for or loving nature. We just want to say thanks again. Lamar And Cindy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyLTuppersPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have visited the greater Yellowstone area approximately 25 times in the3 past 25 years and the Elk Horn Lodge is the most comfortable place I have ever stayed. Lisa and Jeff, the owners are EXTREMELY guest friendly. It was truly my pleasure to meet them and stay at Elk Horn Lodge. Charlie Bussey

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, South Dakota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

For our honeymoon my husband and I traveled from the Black Hills of SD to Yellowstone and one of our favorite stops was in Cooke City. We stayed at Elk Horn Lodge in a cabin and are both so happy that we made this perfect choice!! The cabin was extremely clean and comfortable and the town was just so cute! I would recommend Elk Horn Lodge to anyone visiting Cooke City, MT

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice room and no problems. Enjoyed the hot tub. Right in town to enjoy local cafes

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Elk Horn Lodge for two nights on our way to Yellowstone Park.

Pros:
* Close to Yellowstone
* Nestled in the cutest town with quite a bit to do while visiting
* Family-owned business
* Owners live on the property which came in handy when the electricity went out (wind storm). They were very prepared and gave each room a lantern.
* Clean rooms

Cons:
* We were charged $10 for each child (except for our 4 year old) which is the same amount charged if one brought a pet on the property. We were bothered by this policy.
* We were in Room 3 which happens to be a VERY noisy room. We put our three children to bed around 9:30 and were rudely awakened to the fence (next to the room) which blocks off the hot tub. Also, the room above us has NO padding under the carpet. We heard EVERY step of the individual who stayed above us which is annoying at 4:30 in the morning.
* The curtains were dark green in color but offered little privacy especially as night fell and the room's light were on. People can see into the room somewhat.They did little to block out the morning sun as well (coupled with the footsteps above) forcing us to wake WAY earlier then we would've liked.
We pride ourselves in supporting small businesses; however, not sure if we would come back. We felt as if we received the worst room eventhough we made our reservations 8 months in advance. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 3!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank teachergal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are located 4 miles from Yellowstone National Park and Cooke
City has just been named Budget Travel's Coolest Small Town In America! We thank you for choosing a family owned small business. To address your Cons when you booked your stay in October of 2011 you said their would be 5 in your party. The price for 2 people in a room is $99.00 + 10% tax and it's $5.00 for each additional person. Children under 5 stay free. When you reserved I asked the ages and you said 1-7 year old and 1-8 year old and 1-4 year old. You were charged $109.00 + 10% tax per night for 4 persons in a room. When you came to the office to check the pricing this was explained to you again. The reason you were given Room 3 is because it is the only room with a couch so one of your children could sleep on it. We try to save this room for families that are traveling to give them the option to put 5 people in a room and it's also located downstairs so families do not have to haul their luggage upstairs. We like to only allow 4 persons to a room but understand families are sometimes larger. We close our hot tub with a gate and lock it so our guests are not disturbed after 10:00. As to people getting up at 4:30 in the morning they are either going Wildlife Watching in the park or leaving to catch a plane so we can not control the time they are leaving. I really wish you would have let us known your complaints as we would have done our best to accommodate you as we enjoy families visiting the Elk Horn Lodge and want their stay to be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Black Hills, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great location in a friendly town. Owners were very welcoming. When we got inside our cabin we were very impressed at how clean and neat it was. Being in town and on a main road my concern was if it would be noisy. It was very peaceful and quiet. After a cold ride though beartooth pass it was a great place to stay with a hot tub. Also in walking distance of the miners bar a fun local hangout .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailsend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were there for just one night for our trip to Yellowstone park. The owners were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Perfect for the area

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooke City
0.1 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
144 reviews
24.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Property: Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing