We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit noisey”
Review of Cooke City Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cooke City Alpine
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We 've stayed before & enjoyed it . The rooms are "rustic " ,but it is spotless and the beds are very comfortable. close to the northeast entrance to yellowstone park so you can stay & travel in & out of park.. near gas, restaurant & shops& free wi fi!! Only downside in August is that the restaurant/ bar across the road can be a bit noisy on weekends so be aware! All in all a good value for your $.

Room Tip: book ahead it can be busy ..ask for a room away from the street /less noise that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamrn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

When I made my reservation I was not sure if I would be there three of four nights. I paid for four nights but we left after three nights. I understood their policy of seventy two notice of cancellation. They told me if they could rent the room they would refund my money. When I checked later to see if they had rented the room, she told me they had been full at that time.

She said they would refund the money or call me, no money no phone call. Dishonest way to run a business, I will never stay with them again, they don't keep their word.

Room Tip: no phone in the room and un-vinted propane heater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

We take offense at being labeled in this way. We have our policy and follow it. If we rent someone's room (who cancelled late) we certainly refund them. Secondly our heaters are all vented to the outside as per STATE LAW. They are top of the line Rinnai heaters which intake and exhaust from outside of the guest's room. This review is dishonest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We picked this hotel because it's ideally located very close to the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone. This is the perfect location, to visit Lamar Valley, Tower Falls and even the Mammoth Hot Spring area. We had an awesome stay and enjoyed our visit to Yellowstone very much.

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for only USD 125/night which was great value. The room was very spacious, the furniture & decoration is not very modern but the beds were very comfortable. There is also a television and wire less internet. Our room also had a full kitchen which is very convenient in case you want to prepare some food yourself. There are also a few restaurants nearby, we had dinner in the Bistro and enjoyed it very much.

There are only 2 small shops in Cooke City and all is very expensive. So you better stop somewhere to get some groceries, drinks etc. before arriving in Cooke City. We came from Billings and took the Scenic Highway to Cooke City which was a very beautiful drive.

We liked our stay very much because of the close proximity to the park. So when you go out all day to watch wild life in Lamar Valley, to visit Tower Falls etc. and just want a comfortable bed when returning in the evening, this is the perfect place to stay. Do not expect a full service hotel because then you will be disappointed.

During our Yellowstone visit we combined different hotels: this one, Canyon Lodge in Yellowstone NP to visit the rest of the park, Hotel Terra in Teton Village to relax.
All together we had an incredible trip and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your honest review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Had to plunge the toilet with each use. They had the plunger right there for us to use. Complained to management who said they'd check it out. No hair dryer. We were told check out time was 10am. Since this motel doesn't include breakfast, we went up the street to eat. Returned to our room at 8:30am to brush our teeth and pack our stuff. Found out that the maid had already stripped our beds and removed all our towels and prettily folded the next piece of toilet paper. Luckily, we didn't seem to be missing any of our personal stuff. Disconcerting! Slow to non-existent wifi. Unlevel gravel parking lot. Do have to say that even after all this we found the room to be clean in general and the beds were comfortable. This motel was rated #2 by other trip advisors, but Cooke City has no competition, so they can pretty much do what they want.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaBorn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thanks for your review. We will use to improve where we can. The plungers are in every room and not because of a frequent issue. Its mainly for convenience so that customers aren't having to tromp down to the office (especially in the winter) to ask for help. I will relay the information to our help and hopefully they can learn from your experience. They shouldn't be stripping your room until you are out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in one of the 2-bedroom suites at the Alpine Motel over the July 4th holiday weekend. Our goal was to be close to YNP and the hotel did not disappoint in that way. The suite was clean and comfortable. Suite included a round kitchen table, full refrigerator, microwave, etc. Nothing fancy in terms of the beds and furnishings, but nothing is around this area. The proximity to restaurants was a nice perk. Included a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee, and no free coffee in the lobby - tough for those up at the crack of dawn with jet lag!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasingSun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, General Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your review. I am going through past reviews and picking out spots that may need improvement. I think because of your suggestion we will start providing coffee, at least in the suites where we provide the coffee makers. We have already added fridges and microwaves to all rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the price is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AOVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookeCityAlpine, General Manager at Cooke City Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your quick yet honest review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Clean rooms that are relatively comfortable. Wi-fi access is intermittent and the speed is horribly slow, could not use my wi-fi phone on it due to speed issues. You will know EVERYTHING your neighboring guest are doing in their rooms, sound transmits freely. Not overly friendly or helpful staff, you tend to feel like they have something more important to do than interact with their customers. Good location in Cooke, a quick walk to any place in town. Not a lot of places to choose from in Cooke, I might stay here again, but I would make sure I had an end room with no room above me.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wideopenroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cooke City Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City Alpine

Address: 105 East Main Street, PO Box 1085, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Price Range: $118 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cooke City Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of sparkling clean rooms and 4 apartment sized suites with furnished kitchens. We offer Free WiFi, HBO, ESPN, and complimentary long distance. We do have Pet-Friendly rooms. We now have fridges and microwaves in all of our rooms. We offer outside seating and drive up access to all of our first floor rooms. Guests may also enjoy our outside BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cooke City Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooke City Alpine Hotel Cooke City
Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing