We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotty, even for Cooke City” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Cooke City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spotty, even for Cooke City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A late Breakfast turned into an ordeal. An inviting and rustic interior invited us in and we were quickly seated, even as we noticed minimal staffing. After about 10 minutes, the resident who lives upstairs poured us coffee, for 'sometimes he helps out'. Our waitress managed as best she could but was obviously overwhelmed. Her limited English skills may have contributed to her situation, but her bright demeanor and efficient work habits carried her through. Our food quality was just about average, with nothing being creative or enough to have us return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InWineTruth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    64
    45
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guntown
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“good place in great community”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

stopped here on way to Cody, Wy...great place for lunch..outside tables and when weather is good, best place to eat, as inside is small, and too much going on to be inside anyway...good service, good food and reasonably priced...everyone should visit Cooke City, MT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msbullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice place in Cooke City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped here enroute to Yellowstone for a late lunch. It was nearly the end of the season, but these folks produced great sandwiches and good lemonade very quickly.

Friendly chatty waitress from Slovakia here on a seasonal job. Clean restroom too!

No prices are good in the small mountain towns, but this was pretty reasonable. We would do it again if we were going to Yellowstone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tridcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I come from Texas and this kind of bistro is not a common sight in Dallas. Also I had the best experience with food here. I am a Hindu vegetarian and I asked them if they could replace turkey in the club sandwich with some veggies. I didn't expect much but they stuffed the club with great fresh veggies.U name it the sandwich had it! It felt like my mom/grandmom was cooking inside and felt really bad for me and wanted me to eat well! Awww! I loved the place! Hope to visit it again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Himaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnlevel, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Mediocre food with high prices...service was bad too. Waited for five minutes for the waitress to bring my son a set of silverware while his expensive plate of pasta got colder and colder. Save your money and walk somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniellea6496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing