We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot for Lamar Valley”
Review of Big Moose Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Moose Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We recently completed our 4th stay at the Big Moose just outside Yellowstones NE entrance. As always, Bev was a wonderful host. The Big Moose is our favorite place to stay near the wildlife rich Lamar Valley area of Yellowstone and is perfectly located to get that elusive moose sighting on your way intor or out of the park. The cabins are nicely furnished and the kitchinettes are great for preparing your own meals. We've always had a wonderful time at the Big Moose and can't wait for our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJames04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Big Moose Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

First of all, too many people visit yellowstone and miss the Northeast Corner which is my favorite. Lamar Valley is awesome but even better is the scenic drive from there to the top of the BearTooth pass. The hikes in the beartooths are like nothing in yellowstone ... so different and beautiful and uncrowded.

Finding an affordable place to stay outside of yellowstone is a challenge. We hunted and finally found Big Moose. The cabins are not fancy but you get what you pay for at less than $100/night. We traveled with 3 boys and one had to sleep on the floor; it was the lack of a cot or rollaway or blow up mattress that earned this place 4 stars instead of 5.

Again, the cabins are rustic but they are clean and we always appreciate nice towels which Big Moose offered. In addition, there is a mini fridge and a microwave.

Best of all was Bev who took good care of us. Because i booked it unseen, i played it safe and booked two cabins since the biggest cabin only had 2 queens and there was no blow-up bed option for our 3rd child. When we arrived and saw how big one cabin was, I said we would just use one cabin. This was the high season and understandably, Bev couldn't give me a full refund. However, she took down her "No Vacancy" sign and we kept our fingers crossed that someone would need the other cabin. While this didn't happen, Bev still only charged us for one of the two nights. I have no doubt that she could have leased that second cabin had we not reserved it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We rented cabin 8 and 9 for a large family we were traveling with in Yellowstone. They were so cozy, cute, and clean. We had a bedroom, small living room/kitchen. We are going to Yellowstone next year and it is so reasonably priced compared to that area. It also had t.v. and internet which please our teenage/college age children. The owner is so down-home friendly. I left and feel like we are girlfriends. Honestly, this is a great little place. No, it is not a pricey resort, but the prices reflect that. It is better than staying in Yellowstone, and it has more amenities, and I just felt welcomed by Bev the owner. This is not that far from Yellowstone, worth the drive, do the flume trail, and do the Beartooth, it was worth every minute there, and my whole family enjoyed it. Goooooo....

Room Tip: Cabin 8 and 9 have adjoining doors. Can accommodate two large families, and it has a great porch.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnnabelleWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed one night in cabin 9 and enjoyed a BBQ outside. Warm and welcoming. Some evidence that previous guests had had pets in the room but generally clean. Good stop off before or after Yellowstone. Perhaps a little overpriced relative to other accommodation in gateway towns.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Room was clean. Really nice folks. Just outside of town,
The snowplow going by after dark startled me because it had by sooo quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Big Moose is located about 3 miles north of Cooke City and is in a wooded area. (It's a resort in name only.) We were there during the rainy season so I'm sure we missed some of it's beauty. They are pet friendly which is great. Unfortunately, the parking lot isn't paved and there isn't a lot of grass to take the dog so he was muddy. The cabin was spacious - we stayed 3 nights. We were in the duplex cabin with the kitchenette. We had new "neighbors" each night and fortunately we were all rather quiet because the walls between the two are very thin. We woke up to people talking and thought someone was in our cabin. If you had partiers or little kiddos, I could see how this could be a major issue. The beds were ok and the fireplace heated the cabin well. The vanity top is large so you can set things down and there are shelves to put things on. The towels were nicer than most hotels we stayed at but the sheets, blankets, and quilts are very tired and worn out. The microwave worked great except the fan comes on every time you want to heat anything and it's loud. We didn't interact with the staff except at check-in so I can't comment on that. The good news is that we didn't need to call them for anything.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiem1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I researched places to go for our Honeymoon and choose to stay here on our trip and I'm glad we did.. We flew into Salt Lake City and went through Yellowstone on our way to Mt Rushmore. This is one of our stops and I loved it! The owner was fantastic and knowing it was our honeymoon with a few vacant rooms upgraded up for free. The cabin was very nice. The room was very clean and had a fridge, stove and TV. There are many walking trails and the sites are gorgeous! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vision_quest61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
2.6 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Resort

Address: 715 Highway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Location: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Various style cabins with a great hospitable atmosphere. 3 miles east of town provides solitude in a real mountain setting. Multiple amentities. Excellent wildlife at the Northern Range of Yellowstones best gateway community. Let us make Big Moose Resort your favorite part of your vacation. We treat you how we like to be treated on vacation! Within the area is fabulous hiking, fishing, wildlife watching and spectacular scenic highways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing