We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local establishment in a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Bear Steakhouse

Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Condon
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good local establishment in a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have eaten at the Hungry Bear a number of times, mainly for lunches while we were traveling through the Swan Valley. It's the best stop along that highway, though there aren't many choices!

The atmosphere is great, with lots of wood, nice windows to look out, and some great deadheads on the walls. The staff is great, and friendly every time we've been there. Locals eat here, and you should too. The menu is varied enough for everyone, not fine dining but the food is good and a great value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTxGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
1 review
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had just spent a wonderful couple of days at the beautiful new condo units at the Swan River Lodge. We decided to go out to dinner at the Hungry Bear instead of cook the first night we were there. I am so glad that we did. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. The people that work there are very kind as well. In fact everyone we met in the Swan Valley seems to be that way. Thank you to all who made our visit so wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Davelemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich and a bowl of chowder.
The food was good -- chicken was tender, moist, and delicious.
The interior was nicely decorated -- a log cabin motif, with country music playing in the background.
Initial service was good; however, It took a long time to get the bill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoragaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Haze, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy place to stop....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff was friendly and welcoming. We stopped for lunch and it was fresh and delicious! The homemade soup was good. it seemed like a restaurant frequented by the local residents.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“RUDE !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped in on our way through the swan for lunch. We didnt want gas station food and uoon entry we were met by a very abrupt woman who told us that they only had hamburgers so what did we want? No menu? No welcome? No anything. Just a we only have hamburgers...what do you want? Sooooo .....
We ordered hamburgers and sodas.
She brought us our sodas in a can. Note this is supposed to be a steak house that says it serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. No menu was ever brought to us. No price disclosure...but thwy did have one of those signs inside that tells you what the specials are...soup of the day was there in plain view...but she only serves hamburgers?
We were waiting for our hamburgers to be brought to us and we could hear the microwave beep as she was deep in her focus to delight us with her and i quote her...FSA hamburgers.
We politely ate our burgers and tried to leave. As we were leaving paying our 19.75 for the two gas station quality burgers we were confronted by the waitress for not tipping her!
I guess we should have left her the quarter that she deserved for microwaving our food. Maybe we will stop in next time to leave her this tip. But i gurantee it wont be to eat that FSA HAMBURGER! And to get treated so kindly.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theysuckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear Steakhouse also viewed

Been to Hungry Bear Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing