We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Stay”
Review of Holland Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Condon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return Stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here 9/30-10/2 for our anniversary. In 13 years, Holland Lake lodge is the first place we have repeated a stay for our anniversary. This is such a relaxing, romantic place with a throwback feel of slower times. You might expect to see 50's, 60's year cars,especially wood paneled station wagons in the parking lot. The lodge is a historic gem, the architecture and interior makes you feel like you have travelled back in time...............minus the wifi. The upstairs rooms are individually heated but the main downstairs is heated solely by the large fireplace and the huge wood burning work of art stove in the dining room. Always toasty during cool weather. The included meals are top notch. Several wholesome, filling breakfast selections. Lunches the same plus Christian will make any type of sandwich you want for a to go lunch, i.e. huckleberry jam/turkey for my wife. Dinners are outstanding. The chef, Amber, creates meals that can compete or surpass any dinner at one of our Seattle restaurants. Christian is the perfect host. He makes you feel at home right away and can help you plan any outing or attend to any needs. Everyone who works here acts as though they've known you a long time and their mission is to make your stay unforgettable. There are also cabins to stay in which we have always done. This time was the loon loft, the smallest of the cabins but a great deck. The cabins are rustic, very clean,the beds/bedding is top shelf. Each cabin has its own fire pit with a supply of wood and fire starter (egg crates and bacon grease) delivered every day. With the setting, trails and canoes/ kayaks to use, there is really no reason to leave the property. Very casual place as you can come in straight from hiking and go in muddy, skinned shins to a 5 star meal......just ask David Letterman. We were there close to the last week they were open in the middle of the week. We were the only guests there for breakfast. Christian surprised us by setting us a breakfast table right in front of the fireplace. What a setting,,that's the kind of place this is. Will it be a 3peat.....strong possibility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockcreekbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, General Manager at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi Rockcreekbum,
We loved your review!
Thanks for staying with us, we so appreciate your patronage.
We look forward to your next stay!
Best,
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
36
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a perfect getaway for experiencing the beauty of Montana in a rustic yet comfortable environment. The cabins and the lodge lobby are cozy, the food is wonderful and the staff is excellent. Very comfortable beds with nice linens. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziezoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We look forward to having you back at the Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 24 hours in the care of Holland Lake Lodge and it felt like really getting away. The lodge staff is amazing: so friendly and helpful. Show up late for breakfast? No problem. "We feed you here," was what the cook said to me. It's a bit of an understatement. The price includes a four-course meal you'd be hard-pressed to find in larger cities, and here you're on the edge of a mountain lake. And don't forget the bar's stocked! Breakfast the next day: So good. Wonderful homemade granola. A box lunch was also part of the deal, but we weren't hungry until dinner the next day. We hiked to the falls, we took out a canoe during peak fall colors and we found another hike just up the road with the help of the staff. We needed the activity after all the fabulous food! Accommodations at the lodge are fairly rustic. Insulation's not great, so you will hear what's happening in the kitchen downstairs, but if you know that going in, it's no big deal. We live about 2 hours from the lodge and can say that the location of this place is one of the most ideal, pretty pretty places in an ideal, pretty state. So glad we go to experience what others before us already knew: The Holland Lake Lodge is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and am glad you enjoyed your time at the lake! Your patronage is valued and shows the importance of support from local Montanans as well as guests from outside our beautiful state.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, MT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a wonderful time at Holland Lake Lodge with 3 of my girlfriends this past weekend. It was the perfect spot to relax, read, and enjoy one another's company. Even with the rainy weather, we enjoyed the glorious location, autumn colors around the lake, the warm fire, and fabulous food. I would hight recommend this place for a friend's get-away! Christian and his staff could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: The rooms are rustic, but the views are fantastic, and the beds are so comfortable. This is a one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We enjoyed hosting your friends and you!! Hopefully next time it'll be all sunshine!
We thank you much for sharing about your stay at the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have just returned from a perfect fall escape at Holland Lake Lodge. Aspen and tamarack were golden hues among the darkness of the evergreen. The lake was tanquil and beautiful. I loved the rustic cabins, each on the lake, a firepit for fires on cool evenings, and Andirondack chairs for contemplation of the beautiful setting around me. Staff was super friendly and helpful, accomodating our clockless routine. Food was INCREDIBLE! Filet you could cut with a fork, crab cakes to die for, chicken pot pie that was out of this world and a black bean soup my sister loved above all else. I voted for the homemade veggie burger. We plan on returning year after year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 829happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed the food and your overall stay at the Lodge! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your time at the lake. We look forward to hosting you again with future visits to the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I visited Holland Lake Lodge for three nights and we had a very good stay and would recommend this lodge for any get-a-way. When we arrived we were welcomed and told about the place. Our cabin (Moose Roost) was ready and very comfortable. It had two comfortable queen beds, a big leather chair and a couch. The bathroom (which just had a shower) was warm, clean and all one needed (unless they needed a bath -- but really, who does). Our dogs also liked the place and got along well with Silas and Wanda after Christian took the time to introduce his dogs to ours. Another outgoing effort on the part of the proprietors.

We had dinner, breakfast, lunch, dinner, lunch, dinner, breakfast, and a boxed lunch for our day of check out, and all were excellent; served well, and with a personal style we enjoyed and would always desire on a get-a-way. We would especially recommend the "Chicken Pot Pie" , the halibut, and the tenderloin, as well as any special. All were all well done. We were very happy with all the entree, soup, salad, and appetizer selections included in the dinner option. The soups are exceptional!

On our second night we asked for the fire starter package to have a fire at our separate fire pit right on the lake. It was a full moon, and the fire, stars, and quietness were special. The next night, the lodge was doing a photo shoot and lit all the cabin and main lodge fire pits and it seemed a very special space. The use of the kayaks and canoes to cruise the lake is a very nice perk. It is a pristine lake, especially in September.

Christian, Nancy and Amber (the chef) have put a large effort into making a Government leased space into a real special resort that exceeded our expectations by a large margin. I would think that if one wants to visit Montana, be on a spectacular lake, looking up to majestic mountains, with truly individual attention and comfortable accommodations, you would check this out.

Room Tip: Try the Moose Roost or Grizzly Den
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We're so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time at the Lodge. We strive to provide a relaxed calming experience so that our guests can have a perfect getaway. Look for some of those photos from the shoot to be added to the website soon!
Thanks for taking the time to review the Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came up to Holland Lake Lodge after discovering it on a road trip. We were blown away by the location and the authenticity and feel of the lodge itself. When we returned we stayed in a cabin. We felt that for the price that the accommodations ought to have been better. As the manager notes in response to some of the other poor reviews the beds and linens are good quality and comfortable, but other things are not up to par for the price demanded. The wireless in our cabin did not work and we were told that routers were moved around from one cabin to another so wireless was spotty. A window in our cabin did not open and was clearly broken. An old sock was on the floor - I'm guessing from the previous guest. The locks on the cabin doors were pad locks and the first key we were given didn't work, the hinge the lock fit into was bent and hard to manipulate. These are small things that would be simple to fix and I can't understand why they don't do these things - easy wireless, windows that work, a clean room, easy access to your front door....these are not big requests in this day and age. Particularly if you're paying $375.00 a night!

However, these were mere annoyances compared to the attitude of the staff. Most of them were rude and unaccommodating - everything seemed like a hassle to them and they hold themselves as if they are a five star hotel and have every right to be snotty. While we did enjoy our meals - the kitchen is good - this did not prevent us from feeling that overall this was over priced and more importantly not a pleasure. Very sad since the location is so spectacular.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are very small and poorly appointed. In the room we saw there were no bedside table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NashvilleGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian w, Owner at Holland Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I'm so sorry your stay was disappointing. I wish we had known about your dismay when you were here - we would have tried to make it right at that time.

Our wireless is the best we can get at this point, and I'm sorry about the confusion as it only works in the Main Lodge, and not the cabins. Though rustic, we certainly attempt to have clean accommodations. My apologies that your cabin was not up to this standard. We strive to have friendly, polite and accommodating staff here at the Lodge. In falling short on this, we're truly sorry.

In attempting to make things right, I invite you to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holland Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Lake Lodge

Property: Holland Lake Lodge
Address: 1947 Holland Lake Road, Swan Valley, Condon, MT 59826
Location: United States > Montana > Condon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Condon
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Holland Lake Hotel Condon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing