We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and a Superb Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glacier Travel Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Columbia Falls
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and a Superb Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have just spent six weeks at this location during October and November 2013. It was selected for price and the weekly rate was far better than any of the other local options, about $230/week for a room with microwave and small refrigerator. Both rooms I used were huge, twice as big as a typical Motel 6, and were very clean and tidy. The place seems to have been renovated recently because everything appeared to be quite fresh. It is the closest chain motel to Glacier National Park. The rooms are big enough for a family and the sofa in my room was probably a fold-out bed but I never tried it.

Since I was there for an extended stay I got to know the staff. Some are more friendly than others but all were helpful and professional. There was a free light breakfast available that included good orange juice, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, fresh fruit, and bread for toast. Two free newspapers were also available and I grabbed one every day. Other than the juice, I always went to one of the great local breakfast places -- Montana Coffee Traders, Night Owl Cafe, or my favorite, Base Camp Cafe.

The only issue with this place is noise. If you are in a downstairs room any activity in the room above you may be audible. The owner of this place would be well advised to add effective sound-proofing material to the walls and ceilings.

Columbia Falls looks like an old mill town but it has some hidden gems and great advantages over Kalispell and Whitefish. These include the superb Palette Cafe hidden just off the highway, Bad Rock Books (reviewed elsewhere), and the swank and uppity bistro called Three Forks Grille (also reviewed elsewhere).

Room Tip: Consider an upstairs room because of noise...and be considerate of those on the ground floor who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
60
68
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have actually stayed here 2 times (not too many choices for the price). We found that the rooms were clean and spacious. The price was good. The last time my Dad and I stayed there (October 2013), we were awakened several times during the night because of the activity going on in the room above us (party or something like that). Needless to stay, I didn't have a very restful night. I would recommend staying on the 2nd floor if you are open to that option......The breakfast is very average; what you would expect (pastries, juice, coffee, yogurt, etc.). We may explore other options when back in Columbia Falls, but if we stay here again, I would not mind.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if possible. You can hear every step made above you........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's a super 8, in Columbia Falls. Columbia Falls is half way between whitefish MT and Glacier national park, which makes the hotel cheaper. There is nothing interesting in Columbia falls, but there is everything you need, a grocery store, gas, and some food. The place to be for a fun night life is in whitefish. I was simply there for two nights on business so from that prospective this hotel was quite perfect. Great comfortable bed, spacious and clean room, and good service. Breakfast was not impressive but free team coffee, and juice all day and night was quite nice. My bathroom was clean, the tub was nice as well as an adjustable shower head with plenty of hot water. Bed was clean and comfortable with nice fluffy pillows. Two entrances one outside and one inside the building. Quiet and comfortable. Not fancy or in a great location for a holiday trip except in summer, but great for business or a budget.

Room Tip: I was in a single queen, first level, 2 entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed in the honeymoon suite. It was ok but nothing spectacular. It is dated and would not stay again. Unfortunately it was very busy and there was no place to stay. Front desk was helpful but there were also some sketchy people staying there as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alexj786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
12.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
11.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#1 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
5.4 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Travel Inn

Property: Glacier Travel Inn
Address: 7336 Highway 2 East, Jct. Hwy 2-N & 206, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Super 8 Glacier Park/Columbia Falls)
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glacier Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Glacier Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Glacier Park/Columbia Falls Hotel Columbia Falls
Super 8 Columbia Falls
Super Eight Columbia Falls
Columbia Falls Super Eight
Columbia Falls Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing