We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montana A+ Vermont 30 years ago; Bad Rock the place to stay-now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Montana A+ Vermont 30 years ago; Bad Rock the place to stay-now”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I need to go on vacation every so often so the many balls I am trying to juggle-mostly without success-can all land, I can declare disaster, and then forecast redemption, upon my return from vacation. I kick all the balls under the desk, declare a vacation is afoot and hope I don't trip on the balls as I go out of the room. I also leave at an odd time for fear that someone might ask me where the two of us are going. Truth be told, I have no idea right up until I hear the jet engines. That explains why we took this trip and why I comment on this fine B&B in a "look back."

We are two 50 somethings from Connecticut who decided at the last minute to go to Montana. The Northeast-all of it-is home and Colorado is a state we are very familiar with. We looked at beaching in October but ended up in Montana, Glacier-Yellowstone and a lot of points in between.

Yes, it was great, Montana is a well kept secret from us Northeasterners who think of Montana as just left of the North Pole. Its really a larger Vermont thirty years ago. Beautiful, great people, incredible outdoors with an innocence that only pre-development allows.

Here we are, singing the praises of the Bad Rock B&B. We simply found them on the internet after searching Barbados. Yes, we are that impulsive; the greatest plug we can bestow on this B&B is that if they were closer we'd want to move in. If you understand "guilty pleasure" or "they thought of everything" you'd get the picture.

Good B&Bs tend to draw interesting and pleasant guests, so we had that, too-come to think of it the other guests surely put us in the same category. The food is superlative, rooms excellent and overall experience a solid A. The owners Mark and Serena Jackson have knowledge of the area that is topnotch; when offered guidebooks--even bear spray if we wanted it--we knew we were on to something special. There is talent and passion here; the B&B is a diamond in the rough.

In this comment, I will let the others reviewers give you the content, suffice it to say when the budding B&B owner/dreamers amongst you want to see how its done-on a small scale, mind you-here it is.

You won't have a million dollar view or a kitchen in your room and you won't be walking to feature restaurants but that doesn't hold a candle to passion, pride in ownership and genuine interest in their guests as well as a comfortable, private room worthy of tired travelers.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillisgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
138
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pfafftown
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful B&B set at the base of a mountain. It was just like being home because of all the options available to you. (laundry facilities, game room, den, kitchen, bar, patio,etc). The wild life was plentiful without even leaving the premises. The morning breakfast was not of the ordinary. You will think a chef is preparing your unique breakfast meal. Whether you stay in the main house or one of the detached cottages you will find everything beautifully decorated to accent the nature environment. There is a lovely landscaped patio to sit and relax or read a book. The owner makes a great host and is readily available to you for local information or just general conversation. From this location you are near Glacier Falls, Yellowstone and other parks of interest. I would definitely rated this a 4 star experience.

Helpful?
Thank grandbunnyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin, NC
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We had reservations at the Bad Rock Bed & Breakfast for Aug. 27th and 28th. It was such a wonderful place to relax, the breakfast was so gooood that we stayed another night. (we were lucky that he had room for us to stay another night.) Mark & Serena Jackson, the owners were so gracious and Mark gave us many tips on where to go and what to see and good places to eat. Mark always found time to sit and chat with us after we had spent the day sight seeing. Snacks were always available and good. They are definately the Host With The Most. The bedrooms were so spacious and nicely furnished. We would go back there and stay in a heart beat. We are still talking about our time there.

Helpful?
Thank NCHolyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We were very surprised because all of the raves about Bad Rock were true. Our room was very large and well appointed. Mark's breakfasts were outstanding and he has thought of everything to help his guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, MT
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here this last weekend. We decided last minute to drive to Columbia Falls to see the lake and go to the water park (which is also awesome) and early evening on Saturday night we realized that we needed a place to stay. After finding the information and giving them a call we felt very lucky that they had one more room available for the night.

After a couple calls for directions we pulled up and was very pleased with how beautiful and clean everything was. We were quickly shown around and taken right to our room. It was BEAUTIFUL. We got a small cabin (what I assume was their nicest one, but we didn't ask) and we LOVED it. It was 2 stories.. very comfortable bed, wonderful shower and everything else that we could have asked for including a very big book that they put together with maps and directions on where to eat and what was offered to do in the area. As I said, we got there pretty late in there evening and we had to leave to get home pretty early the next day so we didnt get to stay very long, but it was well worth it.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. Waffles with strawberries and sausage, coffee and OJ. There were about 15 people or so there and it was great to sit around the big table and talk to everyone. It was our first stay at a B&B and we loved it.

I wish we would have had more time there. Everyone was very nice and we couldnt have asked for a better and more peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly4kathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Great service from genuine people! Rooms were decorated nicely...great breakfast to start the day and knowledgeable hosts to get the most out of your stay if you are venturing to Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCDPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We loved this place. We choose it for the proximity to Glacier and for the ability to be a part of Montana, not just the Park. It was the perfect choice. The Bad Rock is the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed at yet. The hosts were so enjoyable and approachable. They helped with anything we needed. They had all of our needs covered from hiking, maps, information, restaurants, even the best places to find Moose. They could answer any question we had about the park or surrounding entertainment.

The breakfasts were of course way too big but delicious. They set us up for a great day of hiking. The rooms range in options and are all very comfortable. The main house is inviting and well supplied. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. Perfect for that end of the day glass of wine by the pond and garden.

Go here! I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I go to that part of Montana again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
9.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
131 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
307 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#3 of 4 in Columbia Falls
193 reviews
7.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 480 Bad Rock Drive, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Rock B&B is a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and the Flathead Valley. With 9 rooms to choose from we have something suited for you personal stay. The views from our 10 acre property of the Swan and Whitefish mountains are breath taking. Find the beauty of quiet solitude in any of our guest rooms. Only 20 minutes from the west entrance to Glacier or Glacier International (Kalispell) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bad Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing