We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave your fancy shirt, bring your appetite”

Back Room of The Nite Owl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leave your fancy shirt, bring your appetite”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There's nothing fancy here, just really great ribs for a great price. The fried bread - you'd walk barefoot, uphill in the snow to eat the crumbs off a stranger's shirt. It's ridiculous. I think I lost 6 months off my life after strapping on the feedbag here in July.

I have been more than once and generally received fantastic service. On this last trip, we were sat in the party room with a group of about 20 and maybe we got lumped in with their order, but it took over 45 minutes to get my ribs. If possible, avoid the party room and dozens of screaming children.

The downside is the meat-sweats you'll develop after ingesting more meat than a puma gets on a good day. Wear sweat pants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    130
    45
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bliss”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place made us so happy - breakfast was terrific and service given with a smile and friendly banter. The fruit was fresh and sweet, and my family enjoyed each of their meals. We shared a gigantic warm cinnamon bun that provided a perfect finish to the meal. This is a restaurant to visit again and again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEKA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We got recommended to try this restaurant and it did not disappoint! It was an excellent meal and the ribs were to die for. On par with the best ribs I have ever had. Would definitely go again when I am back there. If you go to the Columbia Falls area and you like BBQ ribs this place is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Back Room/Night Owl in Columbia Falls, is a local restuarant that is often visited by most tourists headed for Glacier National Park. The Back Room most often ordered meal is their Ribs/Chicken with Fry Bread and Cole Slaw. It's often crowded and for good reason. Prices are reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank daysray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An oasis in the mountains.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located in S Columbia Montana is a family restaurant, with a twist. The front entrance leads you into a typical family style restaurant, with a menu full of good comfort type food and friendly servers. In a back room, with a slightly different menu, is
a casino type atmosphere and bar type crowd, pool table etc.
Menu is a little more upscale than the front, but that menu is available if you want . Food was excellent!! I had the three BBQ meat sampler plate, which was tender and some of the best "Q" I have had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Room of The Nite Owl also viewed

 
Columbia Falls, MT
Columbia Falls, MT
 

Been to Back Room of The Nite Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing