We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just as good as I expected!”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I "live and die" by tripadvisor.com reviews now because they never let me down! We stayed there three nights and specifically chose it because of the good reviews here. My friend and I each have a 100+ lb golden retriever, both of which were with us, and it was the PERFECT place for pets! They charged $10/night more, which was fine with us.
In the front area of the hotel, they had a grass area the length of the motel, roughly the size of a football field. GREAT for our dogs! They have a big open tee-pee, several patio tables and chairs, etc. to lounge in. Beautiful and very well kept.
There are about 10 motel units (which we stayed in), and then 3-4 small cabins, a couple of tee-pees, and about 10-15 RVs at the campground (you can walk from the lobby all the way to the last RV spot in less than 100 yards).
Super friendly staff- lobby closes at 10pm but they give you an after hours number, which we needed one time, and they were great.
We had a king sized bed and "kitchenette" room- flat screen TV with 60+ channels, tons of "closet" space. Rarely heard any noise from room next to us. Our room had wood floors, which was great with dogs. "Kitchen" had mismatched dining ware (who cares?) but there was two of everything, so we were fine. For more than two people, I'd either ask ahead or bring more yourself.
GREAT bargain for the money, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Three nights with two dogs and our total cost was $353. YOU'LL LOVE IT!
(P.S. You're 16 miles outside the entrance to the park but it's a beautiful drive so it was no problem for us.)

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennarear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    18
    19
    9
See reviews for
39
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed there one night on our way to Glacier National Park. We chose to stay in the luxury tepee- $65 a night. What a great experience. Very romantic. Not claustrophobic like a tent, the tepee was bright and airy. We also were very comfortable with the temperature and the queen size bed. The place was quiet and clean. We also enjoyed gourmet coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby in the morning. My husband & I both enjoyed talking to the hostess and highly recommend this place. So try something different and stay in a tepee.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Montana
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2008

What a great place to stay! The perfect choice for our get away! We were thrilled with the friendly staff and home town hospitality. They helped us with directions and the places to see and eat. The rooms were very very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Awesome TV, a plasma! The atmosphere and location were great as well. We were able to be just a short drive from Whitefish and Glacier National Park. We went there to see the beautiful fall colors and escape for a day! We will definitely come back and recommend this motel to others.

  • Liked — The location and staff and hospitality.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mtnlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. Area
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Our stay at the Glacier Park Motel and Campground was excellent. Like one of the other reviewers, we also stayed in the family suite. When we got in, WOW it was huge. Out of the 10 places we stayed on our 20 day trip, this one was by far the largest and most spacious. It was basically like an apartment. The kitchen was huge and was great for making dinner. The bathroom was big as well with a really big shower.

There was a small breakfast provided but we didn't really use it, as we had food from home and it was easier just to use the kitchen provided. The only negative thing I have to say about it is the location. It is a good 15-20 minutes to the park entrance and can be quite inconvenient.

Other than that, no other complaints about the place, and would definitely stay here again.

Oh and at $150 a night, it is a great value for the money (many other places we stayed at during our trip were considerably more expensive yet offered smaller rooms).

  • Liked — spacious
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Greydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We chose to stay at Glacier Park Motel because it is pet-friendly and we could board our dog during the day at a kennel only one mile from the motel. This is a big plus because it is a 15-20 minute drive from the park to the entrance of the motel. We stayed here five nights and enjoyed it very much. We would definitely return. Our bill for the five nights was $534 and included a comfortable, clean, pretty bedroom and a small kitchen where we prepared most of our meals. (The kitchen is not equipped, except for a few items.) We enjoyed meeting the owners who were always available. They gave us information about the area and made suggestions for things to do. We have good memories from our stay at Glacier Park Motel!

  • Liked — The ambience is clean and friendly.
  • Disliked — It only had one plate in the kitchen and a minimum of supplies.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My family stayed at Glacier Park Motel and Campground for 4 days while visiting Glacier National Park. We were in a family suite, which sleeps 6 with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. The suite has 1 bedroom and a full kitchen, plus a large bathroom. The motel is very clean and the staff always friendly and helpful. It is a very good place to stay, especially for the cost. We will stay here again.

  • Disliked — Size of suite, cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BEBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2007

My daughter,niece and I stayed at this inn July of 07.We were in awe of the manager and I believe her grandmother. They are two of the hardest working women I have ever seen. Service must be in their blood! The rooms were spotless,and the price was an incredible bargain. I plan to stay there again during the ski season. T ,K and B . Nevada

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank olddoodlebugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
12.6 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#4 of 5 in Columbia Falls
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
7.5 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
3.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Property: Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground
Address: 7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog friendly Glacier Park Motel & Campground offers budget lodging in guest suites for 1-6, as well as camping with full hook-up RVs, tent lots, camping cabins and even tipis! Located only 12 miles from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park and across the street from Big Sky Waterslides, it is a great homebase for travelers. Property amenities include Coffee & Muffin Bar, Miniature Golf, 24-hour laundromat, BBQ pavilion, horseshoes and badmitton June-September. Top this with great staff who really care about providing you with information to enjoy the local activities and Glacier National Park, this business believes in Customer Service and goes out of its way to make sure your western visit is a pleasant, memorable one. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Motel And Campground Hotel Columbia Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing