We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Items Stolen From Our Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Items Stolen From Our Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was marred by the fact that we had items stolen from our room. After we returned from hiking on the third day of our stay, I noticed that some of our things were out of place. On further inspection, I found that some of my cosmetics and one non prescription med had been taken. When I spoke to the manager the next morning, she was not surprised by what I told her, and said other guests had reported similar items stolen. She said it most likely was someone on the cleaning team. When we checked out, I mentioned to the receptionist what had occurred, and she took my cell number and said the manager would be in touch, but I never heard from her. If other guests had items stolen before I did, I wonder why the management did not get to the bottom of this sooner.

The bathroom needed refurbishing (the floor was dirty and discolored, LOUD fan that ran every time you turned on the light, and lack of counter space). On the plus side, there were some nice accessories in the room to make it feel more rustic, and the breakfast room had a nice ambience. The staff was friendly and welcoming. And the Keurig in the breakfast room for decaf coffee and tea was a nice addition to the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    17
    16
    9
See reviews for
38
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not a fancy motel But the staff was very friendly and the motel was very clean and especially the best part was the price aaa was only 87.00 $ night and the location was only 11 miles from the park. It was very hot upper 80's and 90's Will stay there again next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived after a long drive on our cross-country trip with our dog, planning to stay for 3 nights. I had booked a room on the website link, but when we arrived the receptionist had no record of our pet request and said that all the pet-friendly rooms had been taken. She was under the impression that our reservation had been made through Expedia (seems there are two ways to make reservations on the hotel site) and that the dog request had not come through. I had a sinking feeling, but she said she'd call the owner and see what she could do. She came back and said they had found a place for us in the building where the laundry was housed. I feared the worst, but she assured me that it was a nice room. We opened the door to #30, walked up the steps and found ourselves in a 3 bedroom/2 bath apartment, with a complete kitchen and living room! It was nicely furnished, and gave us a much-appreciated time to spread out after 3 weeks on the road. We took advantage of the kitchen and cooked dinner for ourselves every night, as there is a nice Super1 grocery store a couple of miles down the road. A covered grill/picnic area is available outside. There is free WiFi.

Other reviewers are correct in noting that the grounds are not very attractive and that this property is along a highway. We didn't notice the noise that much, and even slept with windows open at night. The breakfast selection consists of oatmeal, cold pastries, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and coffee/juice. There are 3 washers/3 dryers, all costing $2 per cycle (one cycle of drying was plenty for a large load).

I can't say anything about the accommodations we would have had (and which most pet owners will have), but I was totally impressed with the customer service and the accommodations which we ended up in. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Call the hotel - don't go through a booking site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The biggest surprise was that we requested 2 queen beds and got 2 bedrooms. The room that you entered in had a TV, micro, and refridg. There was a hallway that lead to the bathroom and a second bedroom. This setup would be great for a family. We were travelling with our dog and are always happy when the room has wood or vinyl instead of carpeting. The air conditioning units are super loud. Single serve coffee at muffin/coffee breakfast was nice. Big negative was shower head needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely spacious room, we actually got a 2 bed unit which was great as we could spread out. Location was also great and service was pretty friendly. Big guest laundry which is always a bonus. However, the place is pretty dated and bathrooms need a refurbishment. The room looked clean but if you looked at the colour of you feet just before getting into bed you could tell how grubby the floor was

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Motels are very pricey in this area and we were happy to find a clean room for under $90. We'd planned on staying down the road at another motel but the room was very dark and there was no lamp at the desk, so we decided to look a little further. The desk clerk was very friendly. We saved $20 at this motel and our room was well lit and much larger than the first motel we looked at. The room was VERY clean. The floor was laminate, which is MUCH preferred over nasty stained carpet. The décor had a definite western theme, with a log headboard on the bed and a log futon/couch. We stayed in room 39, which is on the back side of the office and very private. Coffee maker, microwave and fridge were in the room. This is an old motel, and it's not exactly modernized but it was very clean and quaint. The office is a large space with booths and tables for the muffin, juice and coffee breakfast.
It was a nice change from the usual motel experience.
The motel is now known as the Western Inn. There are cabins, and even a couple of tipi's for rent, too. I would recommend checking this place out if you want a clean place to stay that will save you some $$$.

Room Tip: Room 39 was quiet and private, with a queen bed and futon couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Needed a place to stay with 3 beds - my son and I and our travelling buddy. Got what was the last "proper" room available - the family room #31, in a separate block to the main accommodation block. Very comfortable, spacious and all the facilities one could ask for. Big kitchin, big shower, and in the separate bedroom, surprise surprise, a mirror on the ceiling (a family room??? ha ha!).
Good value for money, good place to relax and use as a base for exploring the surrpunding area.
Some basic cabins and teepee's are also available, and if you were on a tight budget, these would be just great - I like my creature comforts these days, so I resisted the temptation to "rough it"
Its close to the main highway, but surprisingly quiet for that.
A basic breakfast, but more than adequate to get you on your way - good coffee (all that's needed!)
I'd be really happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Unlress you are on a tight budget, or in a mood for a novelty, take a room as the log cabins and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
3.2 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#3 of 4 in Columbia Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
7.1 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
7.5 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Property: Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground
Address: 7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog friendly Glacier Park Motel & Campground offers budget lodging in guest suites for 1-6, as well as camping with full hook-up RVs, tent lots, camping cabins and even tipis! Located only 12 miles from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park and across the street from Big Sky Waterslides, it is a great homebase for travelers. Property amenities include Coffee & Muffin Bar, Miniature Golf, 24-hour laundromat, BBQ pavilion, horseshoes and badmitton June-September. Top this with great staff who really care about providing you with information to enjoy the local activities and Glacier National Park, this business believes in Customer Service and goes out of its way to make sure your western visit is a pleasant, memorable one. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Motel And Campground Hotel Columbia Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing