We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. I was a little weary because of all the negative reviews.
It was clean, close to GNP and the price was right. The breakfast was not the greatest, but it was something to tide us over till lunch time. The place is right off the highway so it was noisy at night and the walls were paper thin, but if you turned your fan on it blocks out the noise. They did have a sitting area outside to watch the cars go by. The front desk people were very friendly. I would recommend this place if you were looking for no thrills basic hotel. How much time do you spent in your room anyways? and yes they did have a Keurig

Room Tip: We stayed in a two room bottom room was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Glacier Park Motel because we were looking for one night close to the airport and wanted to get a bargain. The pleasant woman at the front desk suggested a teepee (Spelled "tipi" if you are interested in the authentic spelling)for $55. Who doesn't want to stay in a teepee? So we did! It was HOT during the day (95) but the teepee was cool during the night and comfortable- a fan, light and mosquito net over the bed. The bathrooms and showers were clean and safe and the location was only 10 minutes to the airport and 15 to Glacier National Park. Great bargain and nice outdoor areas to sit and watch the sunset and even a little putt putt golf course on site. Like camping so not for everyone but we thought it was pretty cool!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantonjenCanton_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had their 'nicest' room. It's over a garage, with the shared bathrooms and showers for the campers also below. I don't know how anyone could have written "beautiful setting" - it's an ugly motel on the highway, no green space, near nothing. We did see the regular motel rooms, and they were very tiny. Do yourself a favor - go a little further from the park and stay in Whitefish. We ended up eating our pre-paid nights and doing just that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've never been to the area and tend to go with "brand" hotels, but this one had a slightly better rate than the Super 8 across the road so gave it a try. Wow, what a little gem! First, the staff were all so friendly, really made us feel welcome. Our room was a king with a full kitchen. And the real plus, the plasma cable TV! (Yes, we are 'those people' who need a TV. All of the motels in Glacier National Park were twice as expensive and no TV). The proximity to the Park was a real plus for us as we had a day hike planned and didn't want to trek all the way to Kalispell.

There is a nice continental breakfast in the morning and they even have a Keurig, which was great since there is no Starbucks within 30 miles :) Creature comforts are important! They were also really helpful at suggesting places for dinner and to get gas. There are no hairdryers in the room but you can check one out from the desk, as well as videos and mini golf equipment.

From the front, it's just a basic motel and you might drive by, but don't! We definitely recommend a try and we will be back!

Room Tip: It is right on Highway 2 but we didn't hear a thing from room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I got to spend more time on my recent trip back to the Motel. Mark was great at the front desk and he remembered me from my last stay. He gave me a few great suggestions on where to go to dinner in Flathead Lake. The hotel is well maintained and has a unique charm of its own. The leaves were changing and the mountains looked beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend staying there if you find yourself in this part of the country.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the second floor away from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgr1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This motel is a gem of a find. The staff go above & beyond to be helpful in fact we were so impressed when we stayed here on Sept 10th that we booked a further 2 nights on the way back from our road trip. The rooms have been updated & were spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 39 the first time & we are in room 38 this time. Both rooms are spacious & comfortable. Having a fridge & microwave in the room was a definite bonus. This motel is close to the highway & room 38 is probably the closest room to the road, we didn't hear any traffic noise at all during the night. We had breakfast included during our first stay here - the usual coffee, juice, cereal, pastries - but this te only coffee/tea is available I guess that's as we are close to the end of the season. Our room rate reflected that & we were charged only $65 per night which was absolutely great value for money. Free WIFI was included which worked great for us. The staff also made a big deal about the property being totally non smoking, fine for us but i wonder if they should offer a designated smoking area? Reading the other reviews, I am rather surprised at some of the comments. This place has had a name change & I wonder if that has caused confusion? It's name is actually Western Inn - Glacier Park. Maybe the owners would be advised to correct that with Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We picked this motel based on excellent reviews we had read. The place, turned out to be beyond our expectations. First, such pleasant staff, both at reservations and at check in. Then, our room was charming--so many details. A nice quilt on the beds. Towels in animal decorations. Small fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker. The room makes it seem more like an expensive bed and breakfast. There is an outstanding laundry facility which unfortunately we didn't have time to use. Wi-Fi. Nice flat screen TV. Telephone in room. New looking curtains and shades for darkness and privacy. Mirrors. Chairs and night stands. Mirrors and nice lawn chairs. And to top it off, a great price. Please be aware that complete name of this place is the Western Inn Glacier Park and not as listed in TripAdvisor. We highly recommend this place and would stay here at any time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
12.6 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
5.5 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#4 of 5 in Columbia Falls
202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
358 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground

Address: 7285 Highway 2 East, Columbia Falls, MT 59912 (Formerly Glacier Mountain Shadows)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog friendly Glacier Park Motel & Campground offers budget lodging in guest suites for 1-6, as well as camping with full hook-up RVs, tent lots, camping cabins and even tipis! Located only 12 miles from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park and across the street from Big Sky Waterslides, it is a great homebase for travelers. Property amenities include Coffee & Muffin Bar, Miniature Golf, 24-hour laundromat, BBQ pavilion, horseshoes and badmitton June-September. Top this with great staff who really care about providing you with information to enjoy the local activities and Glacier National Park, this business believes in Customer Service and goes out of its way to make sure your western visit is a pleasant, memorable one. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Western Inn - Glacier Park Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Motel And Campground Hotel Columbia Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing