We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, excellent hosts”
Review of Moss Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This gem sits 20 minutes away from West Glacier entrance. Debi & Hunter serve up delicious, filling breakfasts, offer intuitive advice about area activities, and encourage full use of their modern, beautiful 3 story cedar home.

The only thing we would suggest is that they move the general sitting area right outside the garden room on the first floor to the opposite or middle of the greenhouse area to give guests on the first floor more privacy. Although a shade and a black out type curtain is offered in the garden room, several guests sat outside our room until 11 PM every night and even told us they were outside our room looking at stars at 0330 in the morning. We found this weird and wished for more privacy.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Moss Mountain and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you value privacy above everything, then probably try to get the rooms on the second and third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoconoLvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at a few highly rated B&Bs over the last few years, and this one is up there with the best of them. Hunter and Debbie are wonderful hosts and the house is gorgeous. The breakfasts are imaginative, well cooked, and filling enough to prepare you for a good day of hiking. Breakfast is also a good time to talk over your plans for the day, as your hosts can help you avoid some of the pitfalls that befall others like closed roads.

If we get back to glacier we plan to stay here again, it's too good to pass up.

As an aside, Google maps says that they are further from the park entrance than they truly are. It's more like 15 min via shortcut, and there are directions printed for you at moss mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaNewcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in Sept. i wished the rest of the nights we needed were available. Warm, friendly, great food. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank smilesandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Moss Mountain Inn's location -- just a few miles from the west entrance to Glacier National Park -- and some of the most spectacular breakfasts I've ever eaten make this a wonderful place to stay while exploring Glacier. As others have noted, the bird-watching room is a real treat, and Debbie and Hunter are gracious and entertaining hosts. The upstairs bedrooms (I didn't see the two downstairs bedrooms) are simply but tastefully furnished, and while each of those bedrooms has a private bathroom, it's necessary to walk a few feet through a common hallway to get to your bathroom. That's a very minor inconvenience, however. The bed was very comfortable, and the climb upstairs was good for our health!

Room Tip: Travel light if you choose an upstairs bedroom. You'll have to carry your suitcase or backpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ProfDrDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

There are four guest rooms in this beautiful wooden three story house, located 15 minutes drive from the West Entrance to Glacier National Park. Debi and Hunter, who operate the B & B, live in the house during the eight months of Montana winter, and move into a mobile home on the property for the four months they run the B & B, so guests have the run of the house, which includes a small office, solarium, TV room, and outdoor garden seating. Due to zoning restrictions, guests are asked not to use the kitchen, but there is a refrigerator in the solarium for guest use.

We spent four nights in Lani's Room on the second floor, which although somewhat small has great closet space where we could stash all our luggage, so it didn't feel cramped. This is their room when they occupy the house, and features a very comfortable bed. One downside to this room is that the door opens directly onto the kitchen and dining area, and because they have coffee and tea available an hour before the 8:30 breakfast, things get noisy early and it doesn't feel very private. Two couples staying there our first two days really hit it off, and the effect was rather like waking up to a boisterous cocktail party taking place outside your bedroom door. Thankfully, it was a little quieter the next two mornings, but if I were to go again I would ask for one of the two third floor rooms, which each have a private balcony, or the first floor room which opens onto the solarium, though this would be a little less private given that it is a common area. In general the hosts encourage morning socializing, with the coffee hour and shared breakfast seating, which to an introvert or anyone not very socially inclined first thing in the morning can be a little intimidating, but you can take your coffee into the solarium if you want more peace and quiet. The breakfasts are not to be missed, truly gourmet fare but also designed with balanced nutrition in mind. Each of the four breakfasts we had were outstanding, and we ended up buying her cookbook, which includes all the recipes. Debi and Hunter are warm, welcoming, and personable, and a great source of recommendations for everything from hiking trails to local dining. They have two dogs that are friendly but not intrusive, and are also hypoallergenic.

Our visit was when everyone agrees is the best time of year for this area, in early September -- the weather was perfect and there are smaller crowds post Labor Day. I might wish that the house was a little closer to Glacier, but it is nice to be out in the country away from the crowds of tourists, traffic and gift shops. You will do well to have a GPS to find the B & B, since the most direct route there from the West Entrance is via various winding back roads, some unpaved. If you really want to see the whole park, including the Many Glaciers and Waterton Lakes areas (both well worth it), I would recommend doing what we did and spending two or three additional nights lodging somewhere around Waterton.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ArtAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossmtn, Owner at Moss Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

This guest is right about the "cocktail party" outside their door in the morning. This is the "dark side" of running a B&B: guests who are having WAY too much fun, WAY too early (or WAY too late) and impact the rights of others.

We innkeepers keep a close eye on what is written about us. But just as we do our best to provide exceptional lodging and food, there is such as thing as being a good B&B guest by respecting the rights of others to enjoy peace and quiet. Our thanks to ArtandFood for their comments and allowing us to bring up this very important point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband, mother and I started our trip to Glacier with three nights at the Moss Mountain Inn. The location is heavenly - quiet and very scenic - and only a short drive to West Glacier and Columbia Falls. The Inn is beautiful inside and out with comfortable beds. There is a lovely solarium for reading and drinking wine with family! Breakfast was the highlight - creative and unusual food - and simply fantastic. Debi told me we wouldn't be hungry until afternoon - and she was right. Everything about this stay was absolutely perfect. Thank you to Debi, Hunter and Raggae.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsetraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hunter and Debbie are the best B & B hosts we've had in 15 years of travel around the U.S. They obviously enjoy what they're doing, are both excellent cooks, and are very knowledgeable about Glacier National Park and the surrounding area. They listen to what you want to do on any given day, and make valuable suggestions, but let you make up your own mind. They are always available and helpful, but never intrusive. We would stay there again if we ever go back to Glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carroll A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
6.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
373 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#1 of 9 in Columbia Falls
63 reviews
8 mi away
Meadow Lake View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Mountain Inn

Address: 4655 N Fork Rd, Glacier National Park, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range: $145 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moss Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moss Mountain Inn is an awarding-winning eco-smart bed and breakfast located on the western border of Glacier National Park, Montana, seven miles from the park entrance at West Glacier and a half mile from the North Fork of the National Wild and Scenic Flathead River. Our three-story cedar inn sits high on six forested acres in the Flathead National Forest with views of Glacier Park. Quite and away from traffic and park crowds, our B&B is the perfect base camp for all your Glacier expeditions. A scenic short cut to the West Glacier entrance finds you in the park in 10 - 15 minutes. You will feel both secluded from and surrounded by the majesty of Glacier. The outpost village of Polebridge, Glacier Park International Airport, and the quaint resort town of Whitefish are all within a short and picturesque 20 minute drive. We offer up-to-date, charming amenities, and personal attention to detail to ensure your stay with us is distinctive. When our guests arrive they often feel an immediate connection to their "Glacier Base Camp" and refer to it as "home". We are located 2 miles from the confluence of the Middle and North Fork of the Flathead River (Fly Fishing Paradise!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Moss Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing