We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful experience and the best customer service”
Review of Moss Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“peaceful experience and the best customer service”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you want a B&B with a peaceful, quiet, and gorgeous surroundings, then choose this one. The home is nestled in the woods away from the crowds and only takes about 15 minutes to drive to West Glacier. It's an easy drive from the Kelispell Airport as well as to Whitefish and Flathead lake. Everything you read about the delicious breakfasts are true and the best part are the owners, Debbie and Hunter. They gave us great ideas on day hikes in the park, where to rent boats and alot of information on where we could fly fish. Since there is so much to do in the area, it's nice to get personal help on how, and where to go. Don't miss one!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltoofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spent two nights here after a train trip which included a bus overnight into Glacier. We were so pleased to have a comfortable bed to sleep in and then a great breakfast the next morning. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony looking out to the mountains. Quiet and lovely! The house is beautiful, clean, and has many places inside and out to sit and relax. While doing our planning, we were tempted by the lodges in Glacier National Park but they are rustic even if in beautiful settings. Additionally, while we were not in the park at its peak, it is clear that the lodges will be mobbed in July and August when the Going to the Sun Road is open. So, if you have a car, getting to this B&B is no different than going to one of these lodges and you will be more comfortable and have no crowds to deal with at the end of the day. Deb and Hunter are pleasant, happy, and willing to help you if you need it. And they can cook! We had a hot breakfast one morning and they packed us a great box meal the second as we got up to catch a train. That treats of trail mix and homemade granola bars were fabulous and lasted for days. If you had just a few days in Glacier, stay here. If you have a week, I suggest you stay at a lodge on the eastern side of the park first and spend your last two or three nights here to explore the western areas. Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy! Great place!

Room Tip: Bring a bottle of wine to enjoy the outdoors here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarleyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Hands down the best place to stay if you're in or near Columbia Falls. Deb and Hunter are amazing. Their meals are fresh, yummy, and organic. The Inn is squeaky clean and a great place to lounge if you feel like staying in. Deb and Hunter are also super hospitable without being overbearing or in your face. They were also super accommodating to my husbands food allergies as well as other guest. Let's just say we were sad to go and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21lattes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We spent a few nights at Moss Mountain Inn this past summer and have nothing but praise. We especially liked the fact that since the park is rather crowded, this charming B&B was off the beaten path and very quiet, yet just a short distance down a country road and across a beautiful river from the park entrance at West Glacier. Moss Mountain Inn was comfortable, clean and the organic food was marvelous; fresh, varied and plentiful. The owners are very green and every aspect of their Inn shows it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorSkillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Wow… I am still feeling that Rocky Mountain high after reveling in a glorious 8 nite stay at MOSS MOUNTAIN INN. My brother and I recently made the journey west for hiking and exploring in Big Sky Montana. Debi and Hunter Moss are the ideal ambassadors with unlimited information and sound advice. Their commitment to excellence is apparent. The breakfasts were delicious and generous and served to fuel us for our outdoor adventures.

We scored the ground floor bedroom/ private bath accommodation with the added bonus of a tropical rain forest feel in the glass sun room … tomato plants towering overhead, cascading fuchsia, cozy and inviting seating areas, stimulating reading material and notable workout equipment. The surrounding gardens boast dazzling dahlias, organic veggies and huge sunflowers. The perch in the bird viewing room on the second floor is awesome for eye to eye encounters with the chickadees and jays and the occasional marauding squirrel. Early morning walks around the property with the enthusiastic family canines served to jettison us forward with a smile.

We ventured out with maps/ brochures, driving directions and Bear Spray offered up by our hosts. The “Going to the Sun Road” in Glacier National Park is a must see. Other meccas close by include the charming towns of Whitefish and Big Fork. Hiking in the Jewel Basin with trailhead at Camp Misery … The gondola ride up Big Mountain Ski Resort to hike the Danny O Trail. Lots of wild life sightings and beautiful majestic vistas. We marveled at the turquoise color of the mountain lakes and rivers.

At days end the warm welcoming ambiance at the Moss Mountain Inn and the comfy down covered beds beckoned us back for a good nights rest. We send a huge thank you to Debi and Hunter for providing these happy travelers with the perfect Montana home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patcnwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to Glacier National Park. Our stay was quite pleasant but we did have some minor complaints. Here are the positives. The house, the garden and surrounding areas were lovely. The location is great too -- only 15 minutes away from Glacier National Park via a back country road. Our hosts, Hunter and Debbie, were both friendly, and Hunter kindly offered suggestions of things we could do at Glacier. The tap water at this place comes from a spring and it is absolutely the most delicious water ever. The B&B has a bird watching room with a beautiful view of the hummingbird as well as the trees and mountains nearby.

There are definitely improvements they can make though. My friend and I stayed in the room in the basement. We both ran out of hot water when we took our showers at night. It was late August and it was definitely getting chilly. So it was a rather unpleasant surprise that the shower started to turn from hot to warm and warm to cold a little after 10 minutes.

Also, our hosts said nothing about where we could find them if we needed anything. So when I needed to borrow a hair dryer at about 9:30 p.m., I had no idea where they were and did not want to be rude and knock on every door at the B&B. I ended up borrowing a hair dryer from another guest.

The breakfast was fine, and I was glad that they had a nice tea collection. My friend, however, was not a fan of the croissant sandwich that they served. Given that this place advertised itself as an organic B&B, my friend felt that they should not have been serving white bread products like croissants. In addition, our hosts served up some cinnamon grapes the morning we were there, and they were the weirdest things I had ever tasted. I'm normally a big fan of grapes and would have much preferred them plain.

Overall, this place was fine and we enjoyed ourselves, but they can improve on a few things.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank canyonskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossmtn, Owner at Moss Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
While all guests are entitled to their opinions and expectations, the owners would like to correct an error in this review. Our inn has no basement. The guest room where Canyonskies spent one night opens up into a 350 square foot solarium on the ground floor and overlooks the mountains of Glacier Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Great location for visiting Glacier National Park. Lovely home and property, friendly owners. We stayed at 4 B&B's on this trip and Moss Mtn had the best breakfasts without a doubt. We stayed 3 nights and our breakfasts were unique and delicious! Nice touches throughout the property, especially liked the "bird-watyching" nook,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myra-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia Falls
6.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Mountain Inn

Property: Moss Mountain Inn
Address: 4655 N Fork Rd, Glacier National Park, Columbia Falls, MT 59912-9417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Columbia Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moss Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moss Mountain Inn is an awarding-winning eco-smart bed and breakfast located on the western border of Glacier National Park, Montana, seven miles from the park entrance at West Glacier and a half mile from the North Fork of the National Wild and Scenic Flathead River. Our three-story cedar inn sits high on six forested acres in the Flathead National Forest with views of Glacier Park. Quite and away from traffic and park crowds, our B&B is the perfect base camp for all your Glacier expeditions. A scenic short cut to the West Glacier entrance finds you in the park in 10 - 15 minutes. You will feel both secluded from and surrounded by the majesty of Glacier. The outpost village of Polebridge, Glacier Park International Airport, and the quaint resort town of Whitefish are all within a short and picturesque 20 minute drive. We offer up-to-date, charming amenities, and personal attention to detail to ensure your stay with us is distinctive. When our guests arrive they often feel an immediate connection to their "Glacier Base Camp" and refer to it as "home". We are located 2 miles from the confluence of the Middle and North Fork of the Flathead River (Fly Fishing Paradise!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Moss Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing