We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skeleton with arrows, last hanging and more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Trail Museum

Old Trail Museum
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Choteau
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,392 reviews
651 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 848 helpful votes
“Skeleton with arrows, last hanging and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

On the way to Freezeout Lake we see a Farmers market in Choteau and stop, only to discover, at the same place, Old Trail Museum – a historical museum complete with Bear traps, 4 original cabins, a grizzly room, the story of the last legal hanging in Montana (1933) and “Old Sol” – the skeleton of an unfortunate trapper for the Hudson Bay Company - with not one but three Indian arrows in his bones! Don’t miss it, the modest admission fee of $2 is well worth it. There is also a dinosaur room, if dinosaurs are your thing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It If You're in Choteau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The exhibits are varied and eclectic from the last hanging in Great Falls to awesome Grizzly Bears to dinosaurs to life in the 1800s in Great Falls.... and on and on.... all great... all interesting and all fun.... and when you are finished, wonderful home made ice cream... Chamber of Commerce next door.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charming stop between Glacier National Park and Helena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

After driving through Glacier National Park and enjoying the spectacular scenery, we headed south on rather lonely US 89 to Helena. The scenery is beautiful but there is almost nowhere to stop for food, restrooms etc. for a long way. Imagine our delight when we arrived in charming Choteau. My guide book mentioned the visitor center and ice cream parlor at the Old Trail Museum and we were happy to stop as we needed some travel info. The gentleman manning the visitor center was very polite and gave us the exact information we needed. The restroom facilities were much appreciated and the adjoining ice cream parlor with Montana Wilcoxson's ice cream was such a nice treat! We walked around the outside of the museum with the colorful dinosaur statues but our scedule didn't permit us to tour the interior. It's a wonderful place to stop between Helena and Glacier. If we're ever back, we'll definitely make plans to visit the museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel_is_fun1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs, Ice Cream, and Great History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved our visit to the Old Trail Museum! There is something for everybody at this fun stop! Ice cream and giant dinosaurs for the kids, and serious exhibits for history buffs. We really enjoyed the museum and talking to the great people that run it. Thanks, Anne!

The exhibits are so very well done. It is worth the stop just to see and read about "Old Sol" and the kind of day he had! Yikes, I thought I had a bad day or two until I took one look at him and read about his day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full of high quality exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Choteau is the site of dinosaur finds so of course the museum relects this with many quality dinosaur fossils and exhibits plus since it sits on the Rocky Mountain front the rest of the museum has frontier and wildlife related items. Very interesting!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Trail Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Trail Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing