We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak Sandwich”

Freds Mesquite Grill
Ranked #32 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Strawberry Point, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Steak Sandwich”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want a good steak sandwich cooked to your perfection, this is the best place in Butte.. I find most of the seafood courses are overcooked, the fries tend to be soggy, onion rings are OK--they used to be delicious but the batter has been changed and the rings are not as large. They usually have a large selection of beers, including local options, and the coctails are good. I usually eat there in the summer to take advantage of their outside seating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSulzdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    18
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant,UT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was good the service was good. Had a very enjoyable meal. The place has inside and outside seating, either place is great to share a meal with friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trip42plusdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had excellent ribs!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came across this restaurant driving around Butte Downtown. Very quaint eatery, Nice decor. And food was excellent. Im from Texas and I have to give it to them. The best ribs I ve ever had!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ledia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Steak Sandwich in Montana”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Montana is known for its steaks and the best steak sandwich in Montana is here. It is a top sirloin served very plainly on ciabatta. Nothing else unless you order it. I recommend the sautéed onions. We have been eating here for several years and this meal is always right on.
Our luncheon service has always been prompt and courteous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2uktraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Local dining at its best.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I chose this restaurant because it's local and had outdoor seating and a full parking lot. We were not disappointed. I had the steak kabobs and local kabobs, but the highlight was the mixed salad with cilantro lime dressing. It was superb. My sone had the chicken strips and fries. He said the chicken strips were bland. The fries were excellent. We topped off the meal with turtle cheesecake. Yum! They also offer micro brews. The Dead Guy Roguebwas very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawgoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freds Mesquite Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing