We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty steak”

The Derby Steakhouse
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
League City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty steak”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went here for a business dinner at recommendation of our hotel. We weren't disappointed. Friendly, attentive service and my steak was delicious. Plenty to eat and a welcoming atmosphere. Apparently popular with locals. Easy to find on a main street in Butte.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    15
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the restaurants we ate at during our Montana visit.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was a recommendation of the hotel we were staying at. For starters, make sure you are hungry when you get here. You get a salad, two sides and nice sized steak. My only complaint of the restaurant is we were seated in back and would have like to have been in the bar area, but it was full. Our waitress was solid and our food was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food and service ”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here in the past and had a great meal when I was visiting Butte. I Recommended the Derby to a party of 12 I was part of and prayed they'd deliver so I didn't need to eat crow. They did a great job. Food was excellent and service even for this large of a party was perfect. I'd highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jake232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Won't Go Back”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Waitress tried to be accommodating. But cook couldn't seem to get steak cooked right. Sent it back twice and still not right. When asked directly, the cook got very belligerent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
1 review
“Wonderful food and atmosphere at the Derby!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Derby did not disappoint! It was wonderful. We started with a glass of Pinot Noir, followed by a delicious spinach salad with their house dressing. We were served war pepper bread that was to die for. The baby red potatoes and broccoli were such a nice addition. Of course, the best part was the delicious steak that was cooked medium rare. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. A wonderful experience overall!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing