We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Lady of the Rockies

Our Lady of the Rockies
Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Our Lady of the Rockies", a 90-foot statue sitting atop the Continental Divide is the result of a dream and six years of hard work.With the help of generous donations and a wealth of love and faith, countless volunteers completed a seemingly impossible task. On December 29, 1985 "Our Lady" was placed on the East Ridge to overlook Butte, Montana. The base sits at an elevation of 8510 feet above sea level and 3500 feet above the mile high city of Butte. The statue, lighted and visible at night, is a spectacular sight to behold.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Its wonderful that someone(s) took the time and incredible energy to place this huge statue high above the city of Butte.

Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    13
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

it was very interesting and also very inspiratinal. the story of how it got started, showing them putting her together and even one of the drivers who helped with this, added more then what the movie showed. He was really interesting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The road getting up to it was not "bus worthy" but once we made it up there the view was awesome and worth the stress. The story is touching and inspiring! We will take the trip again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbydox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awe-Inspiring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

What an amazing story of people coming together! The history behind the Our Lady of the Rockies is just amazing! The actual tour is adventurous from the beginning. Turns out you're in a school bus and you end up taking that bus on a one-way 6,000 foot dirt-road climb up the side of the Continental Divide! The gentleman who drove us actually helped build the statue, and not to worry the ride was safe! When you get to the top, the first view you have of the statue will take your breath away! The views of Butte and the Rockies are spectacular. You can walk inside the statue and leave a picture or message about your loved one like thousands of other people have done. It was very touching and intense to read some of the notes of others who have passed. I will never forget visiting Our Lady of the Rockies and will recommend it to everyone visiting Butte and the rest of Montana!

Helpful?
3 Thank sunsandsurf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is worth your time--wonderful story beautiful views and exciting ride to the top of the Divide!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady of the Rockies also viewed

 

Been to Our Lady of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing