We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Uptown Cafe

Uptown Cafe
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Clinton
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Such great food. A four course meal served on white table cloths and we were dressed casual and most everyone else was too! The soup was great and the fish was fantastic as well as plentiful. My friend had the pork chop and said it was great with the fruit flavors infused in the sauce over the meat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ClintonWhidbeyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    78
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York state
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OK Food at High Price”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stopped in for lunch. First, it really is a cafeteria. You have to take a tray a figure out what to buy. At lunch, they had a $7 combo of salad bar and cup of soup. The New England clam chowder was good, but the serve yourself salad (one time only) required using a tiny plate that hardly allowed any salad. Then I ordered the fish which came with rice. Total price was over $15. I had to balance the tray over to any free table. There are many better options in town. I've learned my lesson.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank simulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I enjoy the atmosphere here even though it is a small restaurant. They show the work of local artists on their walls and rotate monthly. It's a nice place to go for a great 4- or 5-course dinner without getting too fancy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lc5528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun food - interesting atmosphere”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice variety of foods and pizzas available. The decor and atmosphere is a lot of fun! All kinds of quaint and eclectic items adorn the walls. The screened porch at the back of the restaurant provides a neat view of the city while you enjoy your meal. The wait for our pizzas seemed a bit long, but it was the afternoon during the off-season, so it was understandable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank im4cnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I can say that this restaurant used to be good, but it is very expensive as everything is ala carte, they have the same menu they had 20 years ago and the quality has gone down. The last lunch we had there, we did not even finish it, nor did we take it home. The Pumpkin roll was good, but the artichoke ravioli was awful!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing