We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mining Museum near the Montana Tech Campus”

World Museum of Mining
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open April thru October, the World Museum of Mining is one of the few museums in the world located on an actual mine yard - the Orphan Girl. This 44 acre museum exhibits more than a century of American history and brings it to life. Explore more than 50 structures, ranging from the 100 ft high headframe to the many buildings of Hell Roarin' Gulch, a turn of the century mining town. Our displays and exhibits focus on mining and the related culture and ethnic groups that made Butte, MT their home. The World Museum of Mining offers two underground mine tous that take you into the depths of the Orphan Girl mine. The 65 ft tour is a glimpse of the underground and takes about an hour. The 100 ft tour gives more history and gives visitors the opportunity to see the Orphan Girl vein. The 100 ft tour takes approximately 1.5 hours. Get fitted with a miner's hard hat, cap lamp and battery belt to experience life underground! Space is limited and reservations are recommended. The World Museum of Mining is open daily at 9:00 am April - October. From time to time weather conditions affect our ability to offer all available services.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great museum of mining near the historic mining city of Butte. A must see for those sightseeing or looking into the mining history of Butte and the Copper Kings.There is a lot of equipment and displays and I wish I had more time to see everything!

Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 296 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Was really looking forward to visiting, but not open as the signing, website and voicemail claimed. We visited on Sunday 10/13/13 and showed up at 10AM after all postings claimed that they opened at 9. Extremely disappointed to add another failed attempt to see Montana after the government shutdown the National Parks.

1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina R, Manager at World Museum of Mining, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. Approximately 90% of the museum is located outdoors, so weather occasionally forces us to close for the safety of our visitors and employees. I completely understand your frustration with receiving incorrect information about the museum hours. We are currently reviewing procedures and plan to make improvements in how we notify visitors of hour changes and/or closures. Again, thank you for helping us make improvements to our facility!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place to read and learn about an industry that built many a nation. Very friendly staff. Great books on mining available.

Thank WashDCBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I lived in Butte, but didn't visit this attraction until a few years ago. I cannot say that my daughter and i enjoyed the museum itself, but the tour of the mine that is offered is was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting, and we learned a lot about mining and the history of the mines in our 'town'. If you are a visitor, i wouldn't pass up the opportunity to sign up for the tour. SPECIFY that what you wantis the tour, or you'll be charged for both the museum AND the tour.

Thank LindaSulzdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina R, Manager at World Museum of Mining, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Very happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed our underground mine tour. It is a very realistic experience! Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Interesting place to stop in Butte. I would say you can do this stop in 1 1/2 -2 hours. The town is a nice look at how it was during the mining era and there is a lot of information to read and learn about. We didn't tour the mine but stayed above ground instead. Well worth the time. Just a warning - if your GPS takes you on a dirt road that seems to go to nowhere: keep driving. The GPS brought us out behind the museum although I am not even sure it was a real road.

Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Museum of Mining also viewed

 

Been to World Museum of Mining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing