We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills, but Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No Frills, but Nice”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I love historic places and this old hotel did not disappoint. My room was large, two ceiling fans, view of the hills, very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast not included, but coffee and tea was located in the lobby. Staff was very friendly and informative on places to eat. I was very disappointed in the historic town, lots of empty, run down buildings. Only had one night, a Sunday, and the antique stores were closed. The town and the hotel were pretty deserted, but I can just imagine a wedding party would liven up the place. All in all, it was an ok stay.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the hotel not the motor court for more of an historic feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Finlen! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    77
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
83
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan Ctr, IN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This entire trip we stayed in OLD hotels when we had a chance. Not intended at 1st, but as we kept booking more older ones we tried to find others. The hotel was based on the Waldorf-Astoria and built when Butte was a rich Mining town. The second tower was capped off at 3 floors after the Depression hit during construction. Grand foyer. Much history. It is an old hotel but clean and many updates. Great staff, always accommodating and available. If you want a view, ask for the EAST side or at least above the 3rd floor. There was street work the week we were there and dump trucks shifting to go up the hill began at 0700 every weekday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Finlen. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was great. We stayed in the main building not the motor court. The Cavalier Lounge was a great place for a drink before heading out to eat. The historic town was beautiful, though pretty deserted. Lots of wonderful buildings and history. The Finlen is in a great location with easy walking access to the whole historic town. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

A classy place. Spacious room that was clean. Desk staff were very accommodating. In the historic uptown. However, there's mostly empty buildings with not much for shopping within walking distance. No breakfast at the hotel. I was happy with the hotel but not with the town, which seemed tired and depressing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zipperbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was well worth the drive in to Butte, historical hotel, beautiful architecture, well maintained. Priced reasonably, clean, we enjoyed it. Friendly staff. Better experience than chain hotels. Be sure to have barbecue at Sparky's just around the corner

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckeyeProudOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you're looking for something more unique than a chain hotel (but still on the affordable side), I'd definitely recommend staying at Finlen Hotel in Butte. It's definitely more quirky since it's an old building--and the rooms have actual keys, not just the cards that you stick in the door.

We went on a road trip and didn't make reservations because we wanted to be able to take our time visiting various attractions on a whim. We arrived in Butte around 11pm on a Sunday night. We had read about the hotel so knew we wanted to check there first, so I walked in to the lobby and requested a room and thankfully they had space. The clerk was friendly and got me set up with my key. We had a single room with one queen bed and paid about $84. We stayed in the hotel, not the motor inn.

This was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, but it was all we needed. Some people might consider it to be too small, but it worked fine since we just stayed one night and rarely spend much time in hotel rooms anyway. It had a bed, a flat screen tv, free wifi, and a heater and a/c. No fridge or coffee pot or anything like that. The lack of coffee pot was the only thing I really missed. There's no free breakfast so we visited a nearby cafe.

At first we were a little unsure about the cleanliness of the room because we immediately found a hat that a previous occupant must have left in the room--but everything was clean. Plus, the neighborhood is nice with all the shops and old buildings around it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent a lovely rainy Friday night at the Finlen Hotel - Motor Inn. I was a little apprehensive about the shape of the room before we arrived as it was way less expensive than other motels in the area and it was an older hotel downtown. But to my pleasant surprise, the room was spotlessly clean and sparkly. Everything surface was clean and in perfect repair. (no cracks or dirty grout!) It was large and the parking space was right in front. It was very quiet. We took our dog and there were others there with polite dogs on leashes. The lobby was accommodating as was the lady who was on duty and extremely helpful to answer all my questions. Coffee in the lobby was great. She even made a fresh pot of coffee for me at night after our dinner. We had 2 large rooms and all amenities we could ask for. We were 1 block away from a market and from the Uptown Café where we had a lovely dinner. And about 3 blocks away from a dog walking park. Could not ask for more and we will return often.

Room Tip: If you want the Uptown Butte experience, stay at the Finlen !! We stayed at motor inn because of do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 15 in Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Butte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#4 of 15 in Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Property: Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing