We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finlin Hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Pleasant,UT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finlin Hotel experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were going to spend the weekend there and wanted to stay in the hotel itself and not the motor lodge and they were full for a wedding. We got a room in the motor lodge which was nice but I really love the hotel. So as soon as there was a room available they let us know and moved us into the hotel.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip42plusdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    79
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
85
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Round the Globe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is subjective: had visited Butte number of times before, but never stayed uptown. This time our group of three had a great time, revisiting w/ our friends, while staying at this hotel. Way better than typical generic US place to stay for couple of nights.. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrl_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm scratching my head on this one. We went here because of all the great reviews and we love historic locations. But, as much as I try, I can't love this place.

I do credit the ability to keep this place in decent condition. I suspect it is a fairly costly maintenance. I also acknowledge seriously competitive rates offering a 'suite' for about $100.

However, the suite we had was just two single hotel rooms joined together with a door between. Very funky layout with a bed in both rooms, but nothing to sit on other that two chairs from a mini dining table. Other than the rooms each having flat screen TVs, there was little to notice for modernization. The two room suite, for instance, had a single window air conditioner which was on the window furthest from the 2nd room, meaning it only could cool one of the rooms. The room also had a dusty/musty smell which hampered allergies.

Oftentimes these little items are tempered when you have an excellent front desk staff. Not so here. Check-in was with a surly lady who was more interested in watching her portable DVD than in greeting us and accommodating our questions.

All in all, I'd say that the best thing going for the Finlen is it's location. If you want go to one of the local downtown restaurants or bars while being able to walk back to your hotel, then this is the place (don't be afraid of the adjacent Motor Inn, it may be a better value). For us, next time in Butte we will look at one of the B&Bs or even one of the newer chain hotels along the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSchrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddington, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved this place. What a grand place this must have been in its time. An office building turned hotel, tho only the first 3 floors. Elegant foyer w chandeliers & beautiful high ceilings. The rooms, furniture, bathrooms, all fabulous original. Great views of Butte from the third floor. Huge comfortable rooms. Loving Montana.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank katkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The room was very clean, if dated (mid 80s?). The bathrooms were nice, but the shower was a little weird-- small, but it worked. Great water pressure.
The hotel was non-smoking, and there were no odors in the halls, room, or lobby.

The mattresses are on the "firm" side, but the pillows are fine and the linens are very clean.

We arrived late, and the hotel clerk was more than helpful. She called around to several restaurants trying to find a place that was still open for dinner after 9pm.
We were offered a room at the motor lodge but opted for the hotel building. We paid a little more, but the room was quiet and had pretty good views.
There were several people staying at the hotel the night we checked in, but it seemed like we were the only people on our floor, which was a relief after a long day of driving.

We were apprehensive at first because the neighborhood wasn't near the freeway, and is definitely in transition; but the rooms were much cheaper than the rest of the motels and we couldn't have gotten better service.

I would definitely stay again, and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: follow directions for "Historic Uptown". rooms in the hotel are quieter and more private t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Finlen. I love the ambiance and proximity to all the uptown Butte attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My room, though small, was clean, attractive, and comfortable. The Finlen is my first choice hotel when I revisit Butte!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, my wife & I decided to stay at a historic location in a town full of history. We chose a suite. The remodeled room was spacious with a separate living room & bedroom. The bathroom isn't sized much different than a chain-hotel bathroom. Ceiling fans, a small refrigerator & 2 flat screen TV's add a nice tuch. The staff was helpful & friendly. The location is near various eateries & bars. Enjoy some of Phil's insights over a cup of coffee early in the morning. Will stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bn5962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#2 of 15 in Butte
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Property: Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing