We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn to your Saves list
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
100 E. Broadway, Butte, MT 59701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. We parked in the car park attached to the motel/hotel but we also didnt see a problem getting parking on the streets. The lobby is lovely and you feel like you have stepped back in time. The staff on the reception were very helpful.

The hotel location is good and you really feel like you are in downtown Butte with all the sights around you.

We had a suite which was a corner room at the end of a corridoor so no noise from the lift shaft. The room had 2 separate rooms with a large double bed in one, lots of space and a second room with a double pull out bed. The hotel is old enough but that gives it its charm. Dont expect mod cons but the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a bit of noise from the street but there is not much that can be done about that. It didnt keep us awake.

Only comment/warning Id say is that we asked for a recommendation for a quick breakfast as we and were needing to get on the road quick that morning and we were pointed towards BS Cafe around the corner. The food was good and it was busy but it took forever to get served. Even when we said that we were in a rush, they took ages and no apologies - that was just annoying.

Room Tip: For not much extra money you can book a suite and get tons fo room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meenamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    71
    29
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
73
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights. The lobby was very nice and the people at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. The room was nice, but on the small size. The bed was for two people was only full size. The room was clean, had a nice desk and closet. The bathroom had a small tub with a shower. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. The biggest problem was the noise. Ahhh!! You could hear others shut their doors and hear people talking in the hallways. Seemed like the walls/ door were paper thin. I might be worth a one night stay as the hotel is unique but I don't think I'd be back for more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveygravey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Can't comment on the motel section, but the 1920's era hotel is a beautiful place. Though on the small side, our room was spotless and well-equipped. Some truth-in-advertising notes: 1) We had a streetside (rather than an inside) room on the third floor, and because the window a/c units had been removed for the season, left the window open. We were plagued with noise throughout the night. Staff offered a verbal apology in the morning, but we would have appreciated a more generous acknowledgement. 2) The hotel offers no food service, and the nearest breakfast cafe was several blocks away. 3) The neighborhood isn't 'bad', but there is certainly room for some much-deserved gentrification in such an historic locale.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kathysommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cool old hotel!
Admittedly, when I stayed there the 1st night it did have a slight air of the hotel from "The Shining" in that it was rather empty. (I happen to like that kind of thing). However, if you appreciate interesting old architecture, chandeliers, and neat old woodworking - check this hotel out. Admittedly, the lobby and main floor are it's best features, but I stayed in a suite which was totally acceptable and roomy. It's location is good - it just seems to be waiting for the rest of historical Butte to catch up with it. An in-house restaurant or diner would be nice. The hotel lounge is non-descript but has a wonderful and very competent bartender.
I unexpectedly needed a room for a 2nd night, but the hotel - despite it's desolate appearance - was booked. So, I stayed in the motor lodge. It was clean and neat. The motor lodge is just that - a motor lodge. If you want charm stay in the hotel if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Motor Inn portion of the hotel which is the 1970ish motel attached to the 1924 historic hotel. When we arrived late at night after a long drive from Yellowstone I can't say I was all that excited. People were sitting outside the room smoking and the car in front of us threw a full PBR out the window into the parking lot. Come on, Butte?! The room was stark white, painted concrete block walls with two tiny double beds and the old, thick, flowery polyester curtains. A night of sleep brought new light to the room and I was thoroughly impressed how true the room seemed to the era, despite the era. I actually started calling my husband “Greg” and my kids “Cindy” and “Bobby.” Overall, the motel was quiet, clean, unique and enjoyable. Butte has SO much opportunity. I can’t wait to go back when it’s a thriving tourist destination.

Room Tip: Probably go for the 1924 historic hotel, can't blame you for wanting to skip the bomb-shelteresq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldsgreenlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very clean room and great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Love the lobby and the high ceilings.
Room darkening shades and decent toilet paper (theirs was worse than forest service, if that is possible) would improve stay greatly.
Compared to other uptown hotel/motel options at around the same price this is better value and much cleaner. I will stay again.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fearlessmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Finlen is a good place stop. If you are after a taste of yester-year, this is the place. The lobby and ball room are grand. The room - it was two co-joined rooms - was clean and suited our needs for a simple sleep over. We had plenty of space. In the older part of Butte, we had no noise issues. There are several good eating options close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Butte Plaza Inn
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 13 in Butte
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Butte
3.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#5 of 13 in Butte
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Property: Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Address: 100 E. Broadway, Butte, MT 59701
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing