We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived later in the day than we had anticipated and the hotel was great about it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was beyond our expectations. We we traveling with 2 children and there were three adults. Not only was the room we stayed in huge, but it also had 2 washrooms!!! So great with kids!

The hotel is in the historic part of Butte which is very quiet but that was really neat all on its own. It felt like you'd stepped back in time.

The hotel itself is very historical and beautiful. JFK stayed there as well as many other famous people. It still holds its opulence from a time past and we were so happy to stay there.

If I am ever back in Butte... which I hope to be some day... I will stay there again for sure!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Finlen Hotel in Butte MT. We had read other reviews prior to our stay. I feel compelled to respond to peoples complaints about the limited parking. If you want to park in front of your door then perhaps you need to stay within an urban sprawl area out of town. We were also unable to park in the parking lot one day which meant walking a block to our car. On the way we continued to site see, comment on the interesting architecture and other historic Butte attractions. A short walk will not hurt you. Overall we enjoyed our stay and intend to return. We found the mezzanine area very relaxing, staff was friendly and it was an easy walk from the Hotel to other historic up town locations. Oh, and by the way, the bartender knew how to make a proper old fashioned and manhattan!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rooms a bit tired but clean and very reasonably priced. Great dinner restaurant across the street, but not much else around. Hotel has a friendly lounge. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmith9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The Finlen Hotel is amazing and worth it. We were unable to get a room there and had to stay in the motor inn. You can hear people singing and talking thru the walls, outside motorcycles and traffic, plumbing noises and the bathroom stays lit from a light outside all night. Otherwise it was comfortable. Oh yes, parking is at a minimum. Love Butte, love the hotel, just not the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swat1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've stayed here numerous times. This time for 7 nights. It is lovely. Very large rooms, with high ceiling and large windows. Electrical outlets a bit of a challenge. But, you have a large tub if a bath is for you, or traveling with little ones. Location allows you to walk to all the uptown sites. Several good restaurants within a block or two. Well stocked Hennessey market/grocery one block away. We request a fridge and microwave and have always been accommodated. There are adjacent motel rooms, they are roomy and more than acceptable. The price beats any of the others in town by a significant amount

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown in historic Butte. The rooms are not fancy but perfectly clean and comfortable with a fridge. Cathy on reception was extremely helpful and we got chatting to a full-time resident of the hotel, a lady in her nineties, who gave us lots of history and information about the town and hotel. It has that feeling of faded grandeur, chandeliers and marble columns alongside pictures of J.F.K and other past dignitaries who stayed. The hotel is like Butte itself, it has seen better days but still has a lot of charm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The Motor Inn (we couldn't book the hotel for we have 3 people and 2 queen beds) is clean and quiet. It has 2 rooms and was hugh. The price is so reasonable and we love it. We parked the car at the hotel and walked around the down town. There are so much to see. Thanks the manager, Barbara for good suggestions of touring Butte. This is really a good place to stay. We will come back again and highly recommend this hotel to our friends. Thanks.
Carol T. California

Room Tip: The Motor Inn is as good as the Hotel building. It is quiet and spacious. It is good for a whole fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#4 of 15 in Butte
535 reviews
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 15 in Butte
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range: $80 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing