We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Copper King Mansion
Ranked #7 of 28 things to do in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victorian Mansion available May 1st to Sept 30th for guided tours. Tour times - 10am, noon 2pm, and 3:30pm. BED & BREAKFAST available year round.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The young gal who was the guide around the mansion is a descendent of the current owners. Her knowledge was complete.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank terri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    12
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Butte
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some work to be done”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The outside of the mansion is well kept and majestic sitting on the higher corner of the street. You can imagine all the horse and buggies coming down the road to visit the Copper King, his family and famous guests. The house itself is in fair shape; the wood moldings and fireplaces are wonderful. There is little original furniture left in the house, so the proprietors have tried to purchase furnishings of the same era. The bathrooms and ballroom are interesting, but then you reach the top floor of the house and it is quite junky.
The tour guides, usually high school students in the summer, do a great job of explaining the history of the house and the family legacy left behind in Butte. For the $7 fee, it is worth the hour spent learning of this family and how copper changed their lives forever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite features; tours tailored to your schedule”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Apparently no expense was spared in the building of this mansion. Exquisite architectural features; ceiling frescoes; unusual and lovely decorative painting techniques; eccentric bath fixtures, beautiful chandeliers. The home is ourstanding and beautiful. Street parking is available in front of the mansion, and our tour guide kindly shortened our tour to accommodate our schedule.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel_is_fun1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

An interesting place to stay - a very historic building with a lot of history. The folks that own and run it are terrific - very friendly and it was enjoyable to visit with them. Unfortunately our stay occurred during a very hot day and there is no AC in this building. In addition the room we were in only had a tub and it not accessible for me because I cannot get into or out of a tub due to an injury. This was not told to us at the time of our reservation - we were only informed that the room had a private bath. Normally that would mean a shower was available in addition to the tub.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shadow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the time and $”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took the tour of the Copper King Mansion. We were impressed with how well the mansion was built and even after 100 years and a lot of "elbow grease" on the part of the owners, it looks as good as it did in "the day." The tour is interesting and worth the time and the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank R L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper King Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Copper King Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing