We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but missed on the "little things"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The recently renovated room (new carpet, furnishings & bed spreads) was clean and a good value. Plumbing fixtures, etc. are still old and the room had a musty smell to it. Definitely a budget motel. Service was quircky (when I called to see if they offered shampoo, the desk clerk offered me some of her own!) but if you can put up with no shampoo, no breakfast and the like, a very good value and a good night's sleep. Save the $$$ and go have breakfast at the Hummingbird Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Thank you for your review of the Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri-Butte, Montana from a few years back! The renovations you mentioned were completed in mid-2012 with constant upgrades in progress. That musty smell is gone and we have shampoo! I'm writing this response now as the dynamics of this hotel have changed dramatically with the beginning of 2015 and as we return to our roots in Uptown Butte and our "vintage heritage" we would love to welcome you back!
Sincerely,
The owner and staff Rodeway Inn & Suites, Butte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Capri is the perfect location for any of the festivals in uptown Butte. Everywhere you want to be is within walking distance. They have a private parking lot, so we felt comforable leaving the car for the three days we were in town. The motel is old, but the rate was very good, and they are in the process of renovating. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. There wasn't any shampoo in the bathroom, so I was glad we'd brought our own. I don't know if this was an oversight on the part of the housekeeping staff or if they just don't provide it. Overall, we were very satisified, and we've already booked our room for An Ri Ra next month.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Jlight,
Thank you for your review of the Rodeway Inn & Suites, Capri-Butte, Montana from a few years back! The renovations you mentioned were completed in mid-2012 with constant upgrades in progress. I'm writing this response now as the dynamics of this hotel have changed dramatically with the beginning of 2015 and as we return to our roots in Uptown Butte and our "vintage heritage" we would love to welcome you back!
Sincerely,
The owner and staff,
Rodeway, Butte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Let me begin by saying I love quirky motels. If I am going to stay in a motel I look for a local "funny" looking establishment. Which is exactly what I saw in the Capri. Unfortunately the room was terrible. The walls are painted concrete blocks, the floor is like a damp, wrinkled carpet in top of concrete. The Heater barely worked and smelled bad. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The Capri is an old, two story motel that is comfortable but not great. The rooms are clean and work but are nothing to write home about. However, for the price they are a good value. The older "uptown" section of Butte is being revitalized but has a ways to go. It felt like there was an identify crisis and the Capri is right in there with the remainder of the area. If you want a clean, one-night, cheap (relatively) stay, this is the place. Other than that, it is not a place that I would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud_In_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Anoka MN
14
Reviewed October 18, 2004

WE just stayed at the Capri two weeks ago. they are painting the rooms and putting in new carpeting. I think it is under new managemant. They were friendly and gave us everything we needed. Theyhave excellent weekly rates. They had good soap and shampoo with conditioners, all the towels we needed and coffee with muffins and/or sweetrolls for breakfast.

They are improving from the last time I was there. They are trying to fix it up.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
232
Reviewed October 12, 2004

After staying at the Capri several years ago we decided to stay there again this summer. The place is VERY run down & in need of a good remodel & cleaning . The room even smelled dirty & musty. The rates are indeed reasonable but we have decided that we will pay a little more next time for a decent place to sleep where we can at least rest comfortably without worry of what might be crawling around in our bed .The place really is that awful !!!!!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2003

We recently stayed at the Capri Motel in Butte, MT. During my stay, I was disgusted to find feces and hairs on my supposedly clean wash cloth. That was three nights ago, and, even though we are now home, I am still trying to receive a discount for the room. The management has told me a number of things about the incident that I found disturbing.
For example, she stated that if the towels in the room look clean, after someone has stayed in the room, the housekeeping staff does not need to remove and wash those towels. They are presumed clean. When I told her that that system was not only disgusting, but obviously not working for them, she stated that that is the way it is and the way it will stay. We also noted that the fire alarm had been removed from our room, and with such an old heating system, I hope that the absence of the alarm does not become life threatening to a future guest.

I am writing to you to let you know a little first hand information about the Capri Motel. While our complaints are few, they are major.
Under no circumstance would I ever again stay at that establishment again, and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The management at the hotel does not properly deal with complaints, and the rooms are very obviously dirtier than the eye can see. Such an establishment is unsanitary and poses a health threat to anyone who stays in it.

AB

19  Thank happymomma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Butte
Days Inn Butte
#14 of 15 in Butte
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 15 in Butte
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center

Address: 220 N Wyoming St, Butte, MT 59701-9338 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Capri)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing