We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Casagranda's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just got back from dinner at Casagranda's and was not overly impressed. Nice setting in an old warehouse and staff was nice but that was about it for me.

We ordered the ribeye which was served with soup, salad, choice of potato and a sundae - for $25. The beef tortilla soup was actually quite good. I chose a simple green salad which I dressed with oil and vinegar. I doubt the oil I used was olive oil. Just no taste at all. My buddy got shrimp cocktail instead of salad. It was served in what used to be called a monkey bowl, big enough for a scoop of ice cream. The shrimp were about the size of a nickel and per my buddy were tasteless.

The best part of the meal was the steak, at least for one of us. We both ordered medium rare and both steaks were served very rare. We sent them back and a few minutes later out they came, my buddy's medium rare, mine medium well. Strange. He raved about his steak but mine was just OK. Both agree that the twice baked potatoes were fantastic. Our sundaes were nothing more than a scoop of ice cream. Not a bad thing but definitely no sundae.

So, Casagranda's was just ok for me. Based on all the positive reviews, however, I'm obviously in the minority.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fortunesmiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    68
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A lot of food for a good price”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On arrival we were a little doubtful that we had arrived at the correct place. The restaurant is situated in an old warehouse so it is not your typical restaurant location. Once inside the place was packed with people, but they managed to squeeze us in. The service was excellent and the girl who waited on us was very spontaneous and extremely friendly. We both went for a steak (the rib-eye was really excellent, we can really recommend it). To our surprise the price of the main dish included a soup, bread and tapenade, a salad and even an ice cream. It goes without saying that we didn't leave the table hungry! I was less enthousiastic about the baked potatoes that accompanied the steak but with all the other food that we got, this wasn't an issue. Certainly a place to remember when staying or passing through Butte, MT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Glad we had to eat at the bar”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Place was packed on a busy weekend and had a huge private party that gummed up the works even more. Staff seemed overwhelmed and not very organized, so we went to bar to wait and ended up eating there. While dinner was slow to arrive, it wasn't our bartender's fault and a nice priced bottle of red and friendly folks made the time pass. Steaks are served with set sides which we didn't expect a lot from, but a decent enough green salad w/tasty dressing choices, and even the cup of soup (a nicely seasoned chicken stew) was good. We shared all this and a big rib-eye with twice baked potato (should have ordered an extra potato, as bartender suggested), all delicious, and a scoop of Wilcoxson's ice cream for dessert!----they brought us both scoops to make up for the long wait, plus gave us a great little dessert cocktail. Nice dinner, neat old historic building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Complete meal- one price”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate here twice this week because the meal was so tasty. The prime rib portion is huge, and the meat was tender. All meals includes bread with sundried tomato tapenade, soup, salad, entree with choice of starch and a scoop of Wilcoxson's ice cream. I ordered chicken piccata and it was very good. Interestingly, the good food isn't a compete home run. You have the option of shrimp cocktail instead of salad, but the shrimp are baby salad shrimp served smothered in cocktail sauce. I recommend going for the green salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kss740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food, casual atmosphere”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wanted to eat steak? This is the place. Enjoy! Good food, nice old warehouse atmosphere with lots of old memorabilia to look at. Service good but our waitress was little too overwhelmed with a large 20+ table of local guests. However she was very pleasant. Price was very affordable for the delicious food with large portions. This is the place to go if you want to stay away from hamburgers and pizzas in Montana.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChadPeterson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casagranda's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing