We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Montana's best mansions.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper King Mansion
Ranked #2 of 5 Butte B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This bed and breakfast is a unique experience. It is a historic building in an historic town. Do not expect any modern amenities like a fridge, television or blow dryer, just step back in time and enjoy what was probably high-class living for that era. The Clark family history is interesting and the details in structure and furnishings should not be overlooked. The stained glass windows, the hand carved fireplaces, even the door hinges & knobs are a work of art. Some stories say the mansion is haunted. Could it just be the old radiators steaming up? Or could it be those dolls on the 3rd floor take to dancing in the adjoining ballroom at night?
The host/staff is friendly and accommodating. The meal is adequate. The place is very clean. The off-season rates seem a little high for the rooms that have to share a bathroom down a hallway. I would recommend warm pajamas, good cognac, and a good book.

Room Tip: Master Suite is largest with southern exposure. Family suite is the only room with 2 beds. The oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful setting with a lot of history, the place is wonderful and the hosts were great. I would recommend it to everyone. Reasonably priced, clean, comfortable step back in time. The bedrooms each have a unique feel. Three rooms share a bath and a couple rooms have their own toilets and tubs. There are sinks in each room. We came with several friends for a wedding and enjoyed the house . Check out the "car wash" shower in the upstairs bath. A trip!! Breakfast was nice not super fancy but good basic comfort food.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath book one of the two big rooms.+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Copper King Mansion B&B was simply amazing! We stayed here for a night as we were passing through Butte. The pictures and description on the website does not do this B & B justice. The rooms were a step back in time, very clean and comfortable. You go here for an 'experience', not expecting a 5 star accommodation. The owners have done a wonderful job of preserving this historical landmark. After a very comfortable nights sleep, we were served a hot breakfast of waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, tea, coffee or juice. We were treated to a free tour of the property as part of our accommodation. The tour guide did a fantastic job I only wish I could remember her name so she could get proper credit. Our host for the night was John who was a very kind man with some great stories. Upon arrival we were checked in and he immediately assisted us with making our dinner arrangements in town. We will definitely go back not only to stay at the Copper King but to check out more of Butte's rich history, which I had known nothing about prior to our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocketGurl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This inn is just amazing!!!! It is like staying with the Wild West Cousins from Downton Abbey!!
The furniture, the decor and the collections should be preserved at the Smithsonian! We stayed in the Family Room. It is huge, has very high ceilings and the original hand-painted fresco on the ceiling. It was a very comfortable room. The tour that is given is extremely interesting -- and I am not usually interested in old, historic stuff. This inn really brings it to life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We didn't stay here but rather toured the house. We have toured many historical houses and felt this one was average. Interesting architecture and history. Worth a visit if you are in the area but I wouldn't go out of the way.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful stop. We were searching off cell phone traveling the interstate. We were looking for two rooms and first calls were fruitless. The Mansion had two rooms. The first mention was t three room suite. I almost hung up figuring the budget would not fit. Price was very reasonable. Rooms are all furnished/decorated with period antiques. Some pieces were even originals. Bed was comfy. Hostess was delightful. She knows her history of property and loves to share. A mansion tour comes with the room. Breakfast was excellent but not extravagant. It is located close to old downtown area. Lots of options for dinner out. Worth the stop. Lots to see in the area. We hope to get back this way.

Room Tip: Take the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HiltonHeadFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect since we rarely opt for b & b's. We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and filled in on the important bits, how to get in and out, when breakfast is served, and then a tour of our rooms.

Our suite was large and ornately decorated. It's really a glimpse into a whole different way of life. The bed was comfortable, the plumbing was a puzzle (we figured it out) and although there were other guests and construction outside, it was nice and quiet. The rooms are luxurious for the 19th century, but not necessarily five star by 21st century standards.

Breakfast is served in an impressive dining room. We had a selection of juice, coffee, melon, and home made waffles with sausage. While we enjoyed chatting with the other guests it was especially nice that one of the owners sat and talked with us about the house and its history. Guests also have a house tour included with their stay. It takes about an hour.

Parking is on the street. This is a very walkable location and it's surrounded by other historic structures. Several restaurants are within a few minutes walk, just remember, it's probably going to be an uphill trek when you return.

It's a one-of-a-kind experience and for less than a the cost of chain motel in Billings or Bozeman.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.3 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toad Hall Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Miner's Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Mansion

Address: 219 W Granite St, Butte, MT 59701
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Butte
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion is a 32-room Victorian mansion built in 1884 by William Andrews Clark, one of Montana's territorial pioneers. We are located one block west of the Butte Silver Bow County Courthouse.The Copper King Mansion is one of Butte's most elegant Victorian period architectural achievements. The moment you enter the building you are overwhelmed by the elegance of craftsmanship; the stained glass windows, hand painted ceilings, and hand carved woodwork are just the beginning.We boast 5 Bed and Breakfast rooms for rent, either individually or together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing