We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper King Mansion
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$91
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Butte Mt(Butte)(Great Value!)
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$101
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
55
17
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
17
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunique experiencefamily suitestep back in timeb bour tour guideprivate bathoriginal featureshouse tourlight switchesgreat historyerinshowerhostsservantsartifactswealthplumbing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 83 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you appreciate culture and history, you MUST stay at this B&B! My family stayed here and had a wonderful time. The hosts are incredibly nice and you feel as if you stepped into Victorian times in this house! Prices are more than reasonable as well, cheaper than the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coolgsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I were traveling thru Montana and pulled into Butte on a Sunday evening with no reservation for the night. I called the Copper King Mansion and spoke to a very nice gentleman who described each room witt rates. We chose the master suite and were extremely pleased with the room and the rate. The master suite is well worth the $125.00 rate. We were the only guests that evening so we were able to explore the other rooms. If your looking for a place rich in history this is the place. Breakfast was very good, owners were very polite and gave us a quick tour when we checked in and a more extensive tour the next day. We are hoping to o back soon. If you go be sure and go to the Uptown Cafe for dinner. It's called a cafe but it has an upscale menu and the decor matches. All in all it was a great day in Butte.

Room Tip: If it's a romantic stay, choose the master suite.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a great eccentric place to visit and you sure can't get character like this at a commercial establishment. First, I want to say that you better realize you are staying in an authentic, unrestored 120+ year old home and the limitations that entails. Yes they have wireless internet and works well with the rooms in the back of the house, but not so well with those in front, just too many thick walls. The bathrooms are interesting and of course functional but three rooms do share one bath (the only one with a shower which was fantastic as I had only seen a needle or birdcage shower in house museums). Also be aware the plug-in requires an adapter as they are not designed for modern three prongs plugs. The house is clean regardless of some reviews. It is however very cluttered. The family likes to collect many, many different things from beer steins, clocks, ceramics, glass, etc. And they display this plethora of items throughout the home. If it were up to me and it’s not, I would weed out some of the collections and just keep the more interesting pieces. Yes they give tours but the reviews by individuals stating that they were unaware of it had to be given by people living under a rock, as 1) the website clearly states tours are given, 2) they tell you this when you check in and 3) there is a big sign out front that says tours May through September. While this is inconvenient you just have to accept it and prepare accordingly. The location to dining and attractions cannot be beat as most are within a five block walking distance and the city does have a lot of really great dining establishments. The price compared to more modern and mundane B&Bs cannot be beat and is appropriate for what is offered. I also believe that this would be a great place if you have kids as they are very accepting (I did not have any children with me but there were two different families visiting at the same time as me). While anyone kids or teens would find this place wonderful I would encourage bringing children when they are between the ages of 5 and 8 as I believe staying in a place like this would create a wonderful childhood memory.

Room Tip: Call well in advance as it takes some time for them to get back to you
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed at the Copper King Mansion last night, and this is a very interesting and historic place. Would recommend it! There are tours during the day from 9am to 4pm, so we went sightseeing around the city - lots to see all within walking distance. Our room only had a bath tub, and not a shower which was okay with us. Breakfast was fruit, bacon and french toast. Very good. Learned a lot about Butte history from owner over breakfast. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButteVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

If you like good conversation, tour and a decent breakfast this is the place.
If you like to write your name in the dust, have people going through a tour and looking at you as you eat your breakfast and having your bags packed, room cleaned before you are ready to leave-this is the place to stay. Oh and I forgot-the melodic pounding of hammers as they work on the outside of the house at 7:00 am was exciting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bass218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecopper K, Owner at Copper King Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are open for tours from 9am to 4pm during the summer, so guests do have to get up early unless they want to be part of the tour. The city of Butte was replacing the water lines in the street in front of the house, and it was quite loud, but out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews