We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Mansion!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper King Mansion
Ranked #2 of 5 Butte B&B and Inns
Provo, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Historical Mansion!”
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We just returned from a road trip through Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and Montana. Much to our surprise the crowning event was an overnight stay in Butte, Montana the night before we returned home. The Copper King Mansion has been beautifully restored inside. Once the home to the Copper King, WIlliam Clark, much of the original interior work remains.

We stayed in the Family Suite, which is a large room with two double beds, a sitting area, a large private bathroom and vanity for only $85.

The owner was very gracious and treated us to a tour of the mansion. Her family has owned the mansion for three generations and she is very knowledgable about the home and the surrounding area. She also gave us a great tip on a restaurant called the Uptown Cafe, just a few blocks away and scrumptious!

A lovely breakfast was included in the price, and consisted of fresh fruit, french toast, and sausage.

I would recommend the Copper King Mansion to everyone that is traveling through the area.

  • Liked — Beautifully restored historical site
  • Disliked — no shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Visiting the Copper King Mansion is like going home to stay with relatives, that is, if your relatives are fanatical history buffs with endless stories to tell.

The accomodations are not 21st century, but it's we weren't looking for that. We found the house and our hosts fascinating and charming. The house and furniture is history coming alive.

The biggest treat is what you cannot find in ordinary hotels: a genuine past with people happy to tell you about it. That we were walking through the halls Copper King Clarke once did gave me a bit of thrill. So make sure you stop and chat with the owners and knowledgeable staff.

P.S. We don't go in for air conditioning, and being an Easterner accustomed to heat and humidity, even "hot" days in Butte aren't uncomfortable.

  • Liked — The history associated with the building
  • Disliked — It needs to be renovated a bit
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Washgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston,Idaho
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2007

It was an interesting night. We were tired and hot and rolled into Butte looking for a motel for the night. We tried 5 motels and all were full. Who would think that Butte would have full motels all over town? The last motel suggested we try the Copper King Mansion Bed and Breakfast. We tried and took the last room they had. The owners were very nice and we had a very good breakfast. We were on the second floor in the family room, there was no air conditioning and no shower, just a tub that leaked. There was a fan in our room that we kept on all night. The temperature was in the 90's. Guess next time we will make a reservation, except that we don't know for sure how far we would travel for the day. You can get so far and think oh, let's push it and go to the next town. Traveling is a fun experience.

  • Liked — good breakfast
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teacheronthego07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

What a great experience. We had never been to Butte; went on a whim. Saw the Copper King Mansion listing in a travel guide; the total cost of $65 for bed & breakfast for 2 was much less than cost of a cheap motel and cheap restaurant. The Mansion is incredibly interesting, with gorgeous hand carved woodwork, ceiling frescoes, and filled to the brim with an incredible variety of antique furnishings, paintings, decorations, china, and even a giant organ in the attic. The building isn't in perfect condition, and the outside needs a little maintenance, so don't be discouraged when you arrive. After being inside, we would have gladly paid MUCH more to stay there. The current owners' mother bought the place long ago after it hadn't been maintained well, but she refurbished it and scoured the country for the antiques. Current owner was friendly and willing to talk as much as we wanted, but respected our privacy and time. Tour of the mansion included in B&B cost. Stay in the suite--huge rooms and huge private bath, and breakfast, and tour, all for only $95-- well worth it. It's only a block off the main street of Butte, which was also fascinating. I've seen lots of mining towns, but Butte is different; it was a huge city of over 100,000 with an incredibly international population. I would love to go again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SalidaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincheser, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

34 room mansion housing a bed and breakfast. This mansion is in a remodeling stage - and probably will be for a long time.

The room we stayed in ($85.00 for 4 adults) was comfortable with 2 full size beds.

You have to check in by 9:00 p.m. and out by 9:00 a.m.

There is no television or phone in the room. The bathroom we had (Family Suite) included an old tub, small sink, and toilet. The water ran out very slowly in the tub so it took a while to have enough water in the tub to bathe. Also I have long thick hair and there was no way I was able to wash my hair in this bathroom (the sink was too small with the faucets too close to the sink, and the spout to the old tub was located toward the bottom of the tub).

There is no air conditioning, but fans are available if you want them.

Breakfast the next morning was very good and nice - fresh strawberries, bacon, and waffles with coffee, milk, and orange juice.

After breakfast you are treated with a tour of the mansion (it took a little over an hour).

This place is beautiful and full of history. The owners are collectors of everything you can imagine and you will see the collections on your tour.

I recommend this place because of it's uniqueness.

Helpful?
2 Thank Condarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 24, 2003

We had a memorable stay at Copper King Mansion. The mansion is truly a labor of love for the owners and it shows in every detail, from the informative tour to the historic collections displayed throughout the mansion. We stayed in the "family suite" (2nd floor sitting room) which was HUGE for our family (parents and two children). We had the joy of using the "bird cage" shower (a trip to the turn of the 20th century) which we are still talking about. Breakfast in the formal dining room was so special and the owner sat with us, regaling us with stories about the mining town roustabouts during the copper mining heydays.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2002

the copper king mansion is a fabulous place. it showcases a rich history of craftsmanship and decor. the mansion is loaded with interesting stories and collections. it is highly decorated with artistic mastery in the woodwork and paint. Great Place to see!!

Helpful?
9 Thank anw842016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.3 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#2 of 15 in Butte
531 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#5 of 15 in Butte
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Mansion

Property: Copper King Mansion
Address: 219 W Granite St, Butte, MT 59701
Location: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion is a 32-room Victorian mansion built in 1884 by William Andrews Clark, one of Montana's territorial pioneers. We are located one block west of the Butte Silver Bow County Courthouse.The Copper King Mansion is one of Butte's most elegant Victorian period architectural achievements. The moment you enter the building you are overwhelmed by the elegance of craftsmanship; the stained glass windows, hand painted ceilings, and hand carved woodwork are just the beginning.We boast 5 Bed and Breakfast rooms for rent, either individually or together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing