We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts”
Review of Aspenwood Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Browning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspenwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Browning B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

So different to the usual chain motels. The Aspenwood resort is conveniently located on the East side of Glacier National Park. It consists of a wooden main building with rooms and a dining area, cabins and an RV site. The room was in the main building and was comfortable with everything necessary, en suite, fridge, microwave, TV. The breakfast was great with a huge blueberry pancake among other delights. The only real let down in the bedroom was noise from the kitchen of cleaning/preparation and the radio which went on late one night. Otherwise, this is a good choice and a lot better value than the NP lodges.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MC_Baz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Allow me to preface this review by saying we did not stay in the B&B, which has lovely rooms and all amenities. We chose to stay at the "Beaverlodge Cabin", a separate structure apart from the B&B. Terri, the proprietor, is a welcoming and professional host. She took special trouble to stock the cabin with toiletries, thinking I had asked for them. I had asked whether they were supplied, so that we could bring our own.

The cabin is very spacious inside, with eclectic decor. If having the latest decorating fashions in your accommodations is important to you, stop now. There is a big carved four poster double bed in the middle of the room, a king bed, a sofabed (we didn't open it up) a number of easy chairs, and a table with four chairs.

The cabin is set up with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee pot,hot plate and plates/utensils. Also a heater and fan, no A/C. The electricity is a challenge, more on that later.

There is no running water in the cabin. There is a shower/dishwashing house about 50 feet from the cabin, and I had no trouble cooking in the house. For nighttime needs, there is a camp toilet behind a curtain to keep you from having to go out into the cold night.

This property would be good for people who don't mind a bit of rusticity and a bit of "roughing it". It was great for us--we stayed a week and enjoyed exploring Glacier National Park, a 30 minute drive away.

Pros: Very kind and helpful host, loaned us bear spray, hiking books, anything we needed we just asked for. Beautiful setting close to Glacier. Very reasonable price, we stayed 7 nights with one night free. Food in cafe tasty and generous portions. Used telephone in office to confirm next lodging reservation, since there's no cell phone coverage here. With cabin rental you get your own private bathroom in the shower house, so you can leave toiletries etc there without carrying them back and forth. The hot water is hot and plentiful, and the bath has a heater! The cabin was very clean and we had ample clean towels in the bath house.

Cons: for many people, that no running water thing. It didn't bother us, but we're low maintenance sorts. The biggest con was the electrical system in the cabin was basically nonexistent, being made up of power strips and electrical cords run from the wired shower house. This is because of a contractor screw up this past year and the owner expects to have standard electricity in the cabin next spring. Till then, you can run the refrigerator and ONE other appliance, which can make for interesting mealtimes. Wi-fi and cell phone service either don't exist or are spotty.

I believe the owners are trying to create a quality place for their customers and put a lot of thought and effort into making Aspenwood a welcoming destination, although parts are still a work in progress. It is definitely NOT a big city sort of place, but has a lot to offer people who enjoy nature and are willing to deal with what it means to be out in the middle of nowhere. I know we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank corisline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I have never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before; mostly because we thought we'd feel uncomfortable. This place changed our minds! They were so friendly and made us feel right at home, without making us feel like they were intruding on our vacation time. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was AMAZING!!! The pancakes were delicious and very filling. The location is very convenient to a lot on the east side of glacier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Any time that you look at reviews of a property, you take the extreme praise with a grain of salt. However, in this case, what others have said is well deserved. Aspenwood, a non-descript home surrounded by stunning vistas of the Blackfeet Reservation, was the perfect spot for our visit to Glacier National Park.

The hosts, John and Teri, were so welcoming for our young family, opening the on-site restaurant longer than closing to accommodate us. They also went out of their way to treat our children with the care of a great friend, giving them experiences that they will never forget on our Montana adventure. In fact, on our date of departure, they explained numerous times that “We don’t want to go home!”

The lodge is affordable, well maintained and appointed with your basic luxuries. Our room, the Wild Horse Suite, was cozy and roomy with a separated sleeping quarters for our kids. Around the lodge, there are sports for RVs, volleyball and hiking, so plenty to do on a lazy day. Plus, within a few minutes of Browning, MT and East Glacier Park, the location is ideal.

We don’t often travel to Montana, but we’ve already decided that a return trip to Aspenwood would be a worthy reason to return.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNelsonsID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just ate breakfast here on our way out of Glacier National Park. We'd had such bad experiences with restaurants around the park that we thought we'd catch a fast food place in Browning. When we saw a sign for Aspenwood, we thought we'd give it a try over a fast food place, and we're glad we did. We wish we'd stayed here instead of at St. Mary Lodge (West Motel) - maybe next time!

Room Tip: We just had breakfast here - but looks like it would be a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First, the good. The people were friendly and the place was clean. The views were nice, especially from the beaver pond (after dodging goose poop). Stayed in the Beaver Lodge. Again, it was clean. However, the electrical infrastructure was not as Mike Holmes would say, "Up to code". He would probably faint, as we almost did, after trying to figure out how it was put together. As Mike would say, "UNACCEPTABLE!" I would consider it dangerous and scary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed six nights in the Grizzly Den Suite. Very comfortable bed. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Full breakfast was delicious and very filling. Never needed lunch during our stay. Also ate dinner most nights. Very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Browning
9.3 mi away
Glacier Peaks Hotel & Casino
6.9 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#6 of 6 in East Glacier Park
258 reviews
16.8 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
367 reviews
6.8 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
7 mi away
Lodgepole Gallery & Tipi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspenwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspenwood Resort

Address: HC-72, Box 5150, Highway 89, Browning, MT 59417
Location: United States > Montana > Browning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Browning
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Aspenwood Hotel Browning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing