We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss!!”
Review of Cartws Cafe - CLOSED

Cartws Cafe
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went for lunch with high expectations after the positive reviews only to find they hadn't got either of the things we ordered and on having to complain about some really soggy toast to have a very rude and obnoxious member of staff speak to us like we were stupid. Definitely won't be returning. For lunch would definitely suggest travelling to The Ship at Tresaith or The Beach Hut at Llangrannog.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina-carr, Owner at Cartws Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Jo
We are sorry that we didn't have the goats cheese or the houmous available, but we have been very busy and we make everything fresh to order. We tried to offer you suitable replacements like Brie, feta, cheddar etc but it seemed nothing was good enough. We would also like to point out that toast does go soggy when it has butter and beans on it. I think it would be appropriate for you to give the cafe another try before you tell people not to come as we have a lot to offer. Thank you for your feedback though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely staff , clean premises. Food was great . Thanks we will visit again..... I may be getting older but I can still appreciate a handsome waiter ;-) LOL ....Thanks guys .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debsinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

So much more than just a beach cafe. The building itself is adorable, the staff are so wonderfully friendly and the food is delicious. Myself and my Boyfriend had the Lamb Steaks with home-made chips....I have never eaten a meal so quickly...we wanted another 3 portions of it each it was so gorgeous! The side salad that accompanied the meal was incredible - goats cheese, olives, home-made coleslaw, beetroot. Everything was just super fresh and super tasty.

I then had a slice of Lemon and Coconut cake with a scoope (or two) or Lemon Merignue Ice cream...well recommended by the waitress. My boyfriend had a coffee ice cream/ice cream coffee...Basically coffee poured over a scoop of ice cream in a glass...A coffee float?? He loved it anyway! Demanded his coffee to come like that every morning....!

Although this is "just a cafe" if you appreciate organic, locally sourced, fresh food and vegetables, you should definately make a trip. The beach and walk through the woods is pretty darn lovely too so you can make a real afternoon out of it (like we did)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coco_Coco_Nutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I had a really enjoyable meal at this cafe.We are both vegetarian and really appreciated the variety on offer and the flexibility to provide meals to our requirements.The food was fresh and prepared with a smile (important),and I have no hesitation in recommending this cafe and would certainly visit again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GRAHAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina-carr, Owner at Cartws Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hello
We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit to our cafe, we aim to please all of our customers and we like to be able to cater for every taste. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Karina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having read these reviews we made an effort to visit for Sunday lunch, and were a bit disappointed. It is NOT the fault of the cafe or the friendly girls operating it, rather that this is basically a small cafe and some on here seem to be 'talking it up' in a way that is unrealistic. It is located down a beautiful narrow lane and sits in a wooded NT car park area about 400 metres from the lovely little beach. Inside, it is quite small and congested, with much chair scraping,and all the cooking takes place more or less in full view! From the very small menu we had roast lamb, which came as pieces rather than slices but tasted good. The potatoes and one veg appeared to come direct from the garden, and were fine, although the overall appearance of the dish was more homely than professional. It was OK overall, but at £10.50 it was not as good as several other places we ate in locally. But this may not be fair - this is essentially a cafe for walkers and beach visitors to buy snacks, ice cream and drinks that has added a few home-cooked locally sourced hot meals, and this admirable . The people involved are very nice and deserve to be successful in a location which must be very seasonal. Good luck to them!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina-carr, Owner at Cartws Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your review, we find it helpful to have feedback from our customers and we take your comments seriously. We are very sorry that you were disappointed as we pride ourselves on pleasing all of our customers. We would like to point out however that we have never claimed to be anything but a nice little cafe and yes we do have a limited menu, we like it that way because it means our food is very fresh, if we had a huge menu then we would have to microwave and freeze all of our food, and that is not our aim. We want our food to have flavour and retain its nutrients. And yes our vegetables do come straight from a garden, they are all organic and in season, we are against using genetically modified ingredients as they have detrimental effects to the health. The lamb you ate was from a local farm and was slow roasted for hours, hence it being in pieces rather than slices and also Hence the price. You are very right, The cafe is small but we are opening upstairs so we can have some more space. We hope you come back again, now you know what to expect maybe you won't be disappointed.
Best wishes

Karina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cartws Cafe also viewed

Penbryn, Ceredigion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing