We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is the greatest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lonesome Spur Ranch
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My family and myself have been to this ranch twice and on both times we have been made very wellcome and felt at home. You go on a working ranch to do what it says WORK, and some days you can be in the saddle for 8 hours just like a cowboy dose.It is not make beleave it is the way they live. It is not spain far from it, no pub every night after a full day on a sunbed round the pool. If the work on the ranch has been done Lonie and Elaine will take you and who else is staying on the ranch in the truck down to the local bar which is a couple of miles away or just chill out with a beer around the camp fire before calling it a day. We also went to Yellow stone park which is a sight for sore eyes on a day when there was nothing to do on the ranch and the rodeo was very good. My family and I will be returning to this ranch we have stayed at many other ranches all over America and up to yet this is the best one. We got involed in everything from mending fences,rounding the horses and cows even going to other ranches near by to help them out on pregnancy testing and loading the cattle up for market. If you want to be a cowboy or cowgirl go here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJAJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

I went to lonesome spur in September 2011, and can only explain it as a holiday of a lifetime. Id always wanted to experience the real ranch experience and this was it. Elaine , Lonnie and the staff couldnt have been more friendly helpfull and accommodating. This was my first holiday on my own and first time in the USA . Elaine couldnt have made me feel any more at home than she did and they cant do enough for you! There is something for everyone on this ranch from beginner to accomplished rider. There is lots of riding and cattle work and opportunity to camp out if you want to but if you dont its no problem at all! There was also a trip to cody, the wild horse range and local bar and shops. Accommodation was great and food amazing. The horses are lovely too. I really cant find a bad word to say and cant find anything negative to say and im very fussy and really couldnt find one fault. Iv booked my next trip this year to do the indian ride , re enactment and see a rodro. Its a place il keep going back and would highly reccommend it to anyone. Toni

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derbyshirecowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have had a very recent stay at the ranch. It was amazing! The horses were very gentle and beautiful! The cook was friendley and very professional manner along with great food!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucille c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

the first visit to this ranch was so fantastic that i have returned to experience different times of the working year. chasing cows through trees and brush on horse back, riding the custer battle field with the crowe indians, overnight camp in a teepee. working along side the cowboys mending fences, its all part of the working ranch experience. the cabins are all very comfortable and western themed. the food has always been plentyful and very good, the staff cannot do enough for the guests. lonnie and elaine are very welcoming to both new and returning guests. the horses are a mixture of trail and cattle horses so you can ride at whatever level you feel comfortable, or improve your skills with help from the staff. i have been on the pryor mountain range to look for the wild horses... and found them, into the yellowstone park, the rodeo at cody. i will be returning in the future to the lonesome spur ranch as i still have a yearning to ride into the sunset!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbriancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed at the Lonesome Spur for 2 1/2 weeks late Sept, early Oct 2011 (though booked for only 10 days). I had a great time and experienced so much. The food was good and the folks friendly. It was just the holiday I was hoping for and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

If you want a ranch experience where you don't get dirt under you fingernails, time to blow dry and straighten your hair every morning and where the staff run around after you like a baby then this is not the place for you. However if you want to experience a working ranch you want to challenge yourself, you want to see great scenery, ride amazing horses, and spend time with great hosts who are real friendly people then the lonesome spur is a must for you.
This was one of the best experiences of my life hard hot work at times but absolutely GREAT!!!! The food was fabulous and definately home made accommodation clean and comfortable. We attended the crow reservation which was interesting and the Cody stampede rodeo which is a must. Bull riders are the bravest guys!! Lonnie and Elaine are lovely and really care about the ranch, horses and guests. Go to the lonesome spur expecting to be part of a working ranch and all that brings with it and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karengeorgiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was one of my many trips to Montana and the ranch and I shall be going back again this year 2011. It is not a 'dude Ranch' but a real working ranch where you get the real feeling of the country and the job of a cowboy over the years. You are involved totally with the horses from catching,grooming and saddling.This along with some pleasure rides in stunning country who could want for more.
The accommodation is varied but all of a high standard but with that 'cowboy' feel and if your lucky to be there for the Indian ride, a night under the stars. The food is good 'home' cooking and there is always enough for seconds but don't forget there is pudding!
After sometimes a long day in the saddle with early starts a soak in the hot tub is always something to look forward to.
A trip to Yellowstone is a must and is one of the few extra's at the ranch.
I hope that I am able to keep going back as each trip is different and the people you meet and stay friends with are great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lonesome Spur Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Spur Ranch

Address: 151 Schwend Road, Bridger, MT 59014
Location: United States > Montana > Bridger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bridger
Price Range: $1,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lonesome Spur Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing