We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pa
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was our second stay at the Mansion and it was like a return trip to see old friends. Chis makes you feel right at home from the moment you walk in the door. He actually talks with you and is interested in what is new with you and your trip. In addition the Mansion is a unique property compared to the cookie cutter hotels that are available in the area. In addition the breakfast go way beyond what we have typically been served in a bed and breakfast establishment. The whole experience of staying at the Mansion is warm and friendly and will always be on our list when we are in Bozeman.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    26
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
109
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

A wonderfully restored old mansion, full of cool stuff, comfortable rooms, wonderful friendly helpful hosts, and the most delicious breakfast we had the whole trip. Makes me wish I could be in Bozeman more often!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B & B for one night on our way from Yellowstone to Glacier National Park. This beautiful Victorian mansion is located in downtown Bozeman. When you first drive up, it looks like you are next door to a dilapidated building but it is actually part of the original façade of the brewery next door, which is to be part of a new development . The minute you open the gate and enter the beautiful garden you know you are in for a treat.

The sign asking visitors to remove their shoes, is the first indicator of the cleanliness and cared taken of this Bed and Breakfast . Even though we booked a standard room, we were upgraded to the suite because it was available. The room had a big renovated bathroom, a large sitting room and a huge bedroom. The bedding was beautiful and the sheets looked brand new; crisp, clean, white and lacy.

The owners of this Bed and Breakfast were all rangers at Yellowstone and love to hike the national parks. They were a great resource for planning our trip to Glacier and I wish we had met them before we went to Yellowstone.

My husband and I are very particular about our food and asked for egg white omelets for breakfast, this was no problem, we were served an omelet made from the eggs of their chickens out back, filled with fresh vegetables. Our Chef that morning was Chris, who made sure the room temperature was right, the music was on and the coffee made.

Aside from being a ranger-chef-Bed and Breakfast owner, Chris is also a botanist , who is developing the garden and pond, being a fellow gardener, we could have talked all day.

We had an outstanding stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Lehrkind Mansion in May 2009 while visiting Bozeman for a graduation and vacation, and it was truly one of the most special places we have ever stayed. This B & B has everything a B & B should have – beautiful and intimate accommodations in a much more personal setting than a hotel, hosts that make you feel at completely home, and a delicious breakfast. When we arrived after having driven all the way from Minnesota, Chris’s personal and friendly greeting at the door made us feel right at home and immediately relaxed. Our room, the Audubon Suite, was gorgeous with an incredible bed, en suite bath, and separate sitting area. And the breakfast – oh the breakfast. Breakfast is served in the formal dining room and prepared by Chris and Jon themselves. They served us fresh fruit and fresh baked bread every morning, amazing coffee, and truly gourmet meals prepared with the eggs from the chickens out back. Breakfast is served at a set time each morning but when they realized after the first morning (thanks to our tardiness) that we were not early morning people, they let us come to a second, later seating.
The history and detail in the mansion is amazing and the passion and heart of the owners was evident in every detail of our stay.
Bottom line – this is one of those special places to stay when traveling where the place you stay is worth the trip alone and makes the experience of travel so much richer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalsandSansC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

The Mansion was just what one would expect of a Victorian Mansion in Montana. The Innkeepers showed us warm Montana hospitality. The guest rooms were very comfortable and immaculately clean. The stay was very enjoyable, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I booked a two-night stay at this lovely inn to celebrate his 30th birthday. The entire experience was perfect, and we were thrilled with our choice! The first surprise came when Chris, one of the innkeepers, saw that it was my husband’s birthday and upgraded us (free) from the small room we had booked to the inn’s largest suite (the Audubon). After checking in, he showed us some of the inn’s fascinating antiques, including a remarkable 6-foot tall disc music box from the year the house was built. Our room, like the rest of the mansion, was beautifully decorated -- filled with period pieces and lovely wooden furniture. The thoughtfulness and care that have gone into the mansion’s upkeep are obvious throughout. Peering through the lace curtains, we were rewarded with views of the mountains behind Bozeman. The bed was also fabulous, with incredibly soft and luxurious sheets. In the morning we were greeted with the first of two delicious breakfasts, including an amazing fruit salad as a starter– highly impressive, because fresh fruit is hard to get in Montana this time of year! Chris was flexible with the breakfast time, and moved it up to better accommodate our schedule for the day. This was typical of his attention to detail as a host: he also showed us how to adjust the heat in both the common rooms and in our suite, showed us where all the light switches were in our rooms, checked with us about food allergies the evening before our breakfast, etc. On our second morning, one of the guests was watching the clock in anticipation of a morning flight, and he was gracious and efficient in helping her through the meal at just the right pace. Chris is also a great person to talk to about Yellowstone, both from his days as a ranger and from following the current activities there, and we came away feeling that we had made a new friend. I can’t say enough great things about this inn: it is beautiful place, lovingly maintained, and Chris was a perfect host. I highly recommend it – the experience is not to be missed if you’re staying in Bozeman.

  • Liked — Beautiful inn, wonderful hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing -- it was perfect!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kbe3869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

Jon and Chris are to Bozeman, Montana what Todd Oldham is to South Beach! This pair of talented park rangers-turned B&B proprietors have pulled off an amazing lodging opportunity only seven blocks from Main Street's chic downtown shopping district. Their attention to functionality and fine detail, coupled with both a whimsical spirit and 21st century pragmatism, yield a pleasant ambience and exquisite breakfast experience.

The Lehrkind Mansion was once home to a spirited German brewery magnate who was quite egalitarian and who built his home amidst his industrial complex below the Bridger Mountain Range. This gem of a Victorian home and carriage house still sit in stark contrast to neighboring warehouse-looking buildings, but once you read the historical notes which Jon and Chris have posted throughout the property, you wouldn't want it any other way!

I discovered that I had slept in a 19th century oak bed constructed in England, saved in a shipwreck off Cape Horn, and finally brought across the world to Bozeman. The Elm Suite on the first floor of the carriage house is comprised of a private entrance opening into a sun-filled sitting room complete with a wicker loveseat and plants, a generous-sized bedroom with a rocker and chair, and a large sparkling clean bathroom which houses a period clawfoot bathtub. The rainforest shower head with great water pressure bridges the millenia, and I'm sure that the captain who first owned the suite's bed would approve of the modification! I certainly found it invigorating.

The main house foyer and living room are brimming with historical pieces and books, and I only regretted that I was spending but one night at the Lehrkind! The rare, huge music box that survived the San Francisco earthquake is definitely the most interesting piece, and it is still in wonderful working order. The mansion's stately dining room is where breakfast was served at 830 a.m., and a gourmet meal it was! The omelette roulade, bacon, and fresh croissants served with native huckleberry jam rivaled fine cuisine in any world city. Fresh orange juice and shade grown coffee rounded out the menu, and everything was served on fine china and accoutrements. The time-specific meal was well worth the tradeoff, and any fellow chef of lesser talents would certainly understand that such an ambitious presentation cannot be properly served in another fashion.

The proprietors put great effort into beautifying the exterior grounds, and a few chickens are even housed in a pen in the back yard, amidst a hammock, flowerbeds, and birdhouses. A deck and patio furniture surround the hot tub. I spotted several beautiful Western birds during my stay, as well as a cat, who isn't allowed inside the guest quarters.

I had the opportunity to peek into many of the Lehrkind's rooms, and all appear equally comfortable and exceptionally well maintained. Some of the rooms only have enclosed showers in lieu of clawfoot tub/shower combinations, if that is important to you, and the size of the accommodations vary proportionate to price. One room in the main house has its bathroom just outside the bedroom with a hall entrance. The many breezy windows in my Elm Suite encompassed three sides of the building, so alternated with ceiling fans in both the sunroom and bedroom, it was exceedingly pleasant throughout my July stay.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Lehrkind Mansion for a Bozeman visit. It provided a refreshing transition from the tourist-infested Yellowstone area on my way home through this wonderful historic town. Jon and Chris should be applauded for their hard work and dedication to preserving this grand residence!

While in town, be sure to dine outside at The Garage and visit the many shops and galleries which line Main Street. If I had been there longer, I would have rented a bike to take a ride on the bike trail which runs by the mansion. Spend at least two nights at the Lehrkind to savor what the mansion and Bozeman have to offer. I only wish I had discovered the Lehrkind sooner.

  • Liked — The amazing breakfast and wonderful shower!
  • Disliked — That I had but one day to spend there :(
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.8 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bozeman
Hampton Inn Bozeman
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 719 N Wallace Avenue, Bozeman, MT 59715
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complementary organic gourmet breakfasts are included in rates. All rooms/suites have private baths. Walking distance (only seven blocks) to Downtown Bozeman's restaurants, theater, galleries, and shops makes this one of a kind lodging option the perfect choice away from the interstate and parking lot jungles. Host is a former Yellowstone National Park ranger. Yellowstone is only 1 1/2 hours’ drive away. Stay in Bozeman with the abundance of fine restaurants and night entertainment and daytrip into Yellowstone NP for wildlife viewing. This is Bozeman's answer to a downtown buuteeq hotel yet you feel like you are in the country with the quite private flower gardens, sitting nooks, porches, deck, and patios that offer retreat, sun, and birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bozeman's Lehrkind Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing