We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful quiet getaway where i could recharge from my blackberry-busy life, experience fly fishing and see wildlife.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallatin River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallatin River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful quiet getaway where i could recharge from my blackberry-busy life, experience fly fishing and see wildlife.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

i chose to stay at Gallatin River Lodge on a business trip for the quiet, just-out-of-town location and its modern take on Montana rustic architecture. The in-room jacuzzis and easy-on gas fireplaces were deal makers... the restaurant serving breakfast and dinner with full bar and knowledgeable bartender were crucial too.
Manager Keith Comiso and owner Steve Gamble are expert hosts, making sure the solo traveler is introduced around to locals and fellow guests.
Returning for a few days' holiday, i discovered the delicious Walleye cakes and Wednesday night barbecue special, early evening casting lessons with local fishing guides by the pond outside the lodge. The restaurant is a favorite with Bozeman residents, making for an interesting mix of locals and lodge guests. This is a place to relax, kick back and enjoy Montana scenery and national parks...don't expect to be entertained during the day because everyone is off fishing or exploring Yellowstone. Easy access to Big Sky, Livingston and some of the most gorgeous scenery in Montana.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nystv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    21
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
114
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Dinner for two, $150 plus tip. Was here for dinner only, did not stay at the lodge.
Ordered the Bison T-Bone as we were looking for something quite different and from the local cuisine/area...but we were totally disappointed after we found out that our waiter forgot to advise us that Elk Medallions were available but not listed on the menu for the evening...We only found out after starting on our Bison T-Bone and heard the waitress at the next table offer Elk Medallions to her table guests (stating, not listed on the menu but available)...Therefore I specifically told our waiter about this and yes, he admitted he had failed to advise us about the Elk Medallions..All he could say was sorry, and that ended it, although for the price you are paying here, if he had made an offer to comp the dessert, it would have eased this unfortunate situation....The Bison T-Bone was just okay, nothing spectacular. It was tender and cooked just right to our preference medium-rare.. The fried oyster appetizer was flavorful and not greasy, the French Onion Soup a little "heavy", a tiny bit "salty"... .I can tell you thought it did have an excellent wine list.. However, the table service was a little spotty, even though the restaurant was not very crowded at all. Waited a long time to get dishes cleared, in fact the waitress who was not taking care of our table was nice enough to come by and remove some of the dishes for our waiter. So, quite unfortunately I have to give this restaurant and overall good, but not outstanding for what you are paying here.... just like the Travel Advisor reviewer said below..

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lairtok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

My wife and I had dinner this evening at the Gallatin River Lodge. We chose a table on the porch and enjoyed the nice views and pleasant evening. Our server was fantastic: knowledgable, friendly, and attentive. For an appetizer we tried the walleye cakes which turned out to be excellent. For the entre we had the rack of lamb and found it a little disappointing. Certainly it was good, but not inspiring. The accompanying risotto and lingonberry sauce just didn't work that well with the lamb. Our disappointment was compensated for to some extent by the excellent wine we had from their extensive wine list. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. At the same time for the top end price of the dinner we expected a bit more.

Please note that we were just at the lodge for dinner and did not stay as overnight guests. We have heard that it's a great place to stay but cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Now one of my favorite places in Montana. Dog friendly and food was excellent. Keith Comiso, Manager, very helpful and pleasant.

  • Liked — Food and location and staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RexVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2002

This place was great. Fireplaces in the rooms, jacuzzi tubs, remote riverside setting. Very nice. The dining room was incredible, it was small, only holds twenty or thirty people, but the chef was excellent. Very good food. There is a trout pond and they have river guides to take you fishing on the Gallatin or other nearby 5 star rivers. I give the whole trip as many thumbs up as I can give.
We're going next year.

Scott Lloyd
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
8.7 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
8.8 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 30 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bozeman
6.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallatin River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallatin River Lodge

Property: Gallatin River Lodge
Address: 9105 Thorpe Rd, Bozeman, MT 59718-7260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bozeman
#3 Family Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gallatin River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury boutique hotel located just west of Bozeman, Montana offering Jacuzzi Suites and superb dining in a quiet secluded setting. Our restaurant "Gallatin River Grill" offers a top shelf bar, Award winning wine list and creative American cuisine. Small conference, wedding services and dinner parties are also a specialty. Many guests enjoy Yellowstone National Park while staying with us. A full service fly fishing guide and instruction program is offered seasonally. We offer free airport transportation to Bozeman's International airport, just ten minutes away. Our "Trout Lodge" with additional lodging rooms offers contemporary cutting edge design and service features. Traveler's Choice Award in 2013 as one of the top 25 small hotels in the world from TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gallatin River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallatin River Hotel Bozeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing