We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old style motel/hotel with excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Center Inn
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
CORVALLIS
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old style motel/hotel with excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The big selling point for this hotel is an ideal location for downtown/MSU campus visits together with free parking. Rooms are spacious and clean but old fashioned in furnishing and equipment - no flat screen television, no refrigerators. The lighting is particularly poor with wall mounted fittings high above the beds rather than reading lights. The pillows provided are notably lumpy.
The front desk staff appeared overwhelmed by three guests checking in at the same time - my check-in took over 15 minutes
Typically of older hotels with pools there is musty smell from the chlorine pervading all of the corridors. The hotel is well equipped with vending machines - only one of which is stocked with bottled water - this machine ate my 2 dollar bills but stubbornly refused to either return the money or dispense a bottle. The staff at the desk helpfully confirmed that they knew the machines weren't working properly but since they didn't belong to the hotel they weren't responsible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    24
    17
    12
See reviews for
23
20
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location right in Bozeman. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing really stood as a bad or great. The rooms were clean, the desk clerk was very nice. Didn't try the free breakfast, but the voucher sounded like you got limited choices from their restuarant menu as opposed to the typical re-heated, instant, carb-fest you normally get at free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I needed a place close to the campus and downtown, so I booked this online based on pictures and the price. I found the room I had booked spacious, clean and almost perfect for my needs. Perfection would have been a room with a small refrigerator so I could have stored some beers or snacks.
I used the exercise room a couple times and the pool and spa a couple times. My room was situated on the first floor and it was quiet [I never heard any street noise], and since I was staying three nights I hung out the DO NOT DISTURB sign and was never bothered.
There was a computer in the lobby and even though I had to wait a couple times I didn't mind because ..hey...I was on vacation and not in a hurry for anything...
I chatted it up with the receptionists and both were funny, friendly and responded quickly to requests for more coffee or restock the cups etc. I enjoyed the diversity of the guests, as one night there was a family from Korea, a family from Spain and some folks from Germany. All three were speaking their native languages and that was pure entertainment.
I would recommend a nearby Restaurant called the Montana Ale Works which serves local beers and a bison burger that was simply out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nxetlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located, however it was 10000% no where NEAR close to the beautiful photos the people at the Magnuson Grand decided to copy from the Ritz and pretend it's their own. Good breakfast, nice staff, all the basics with 90s decor, crappy outlets (blew a fuse in our room 4 times in the 2 days we stayed there before moving hotels). Basic motel-type 'hotel.' Spend a few dollars more and go to the C'mon Inn or if you must be downtown, look for flats or apartments to rent

Room Tip: Do not trust the photos on the website or you will be sadly disappointed. That was like comparing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozeman hotels

Boulder
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

It looked like we might not find a decent hotel at a reasonable price in Bozeman. But then we stumbled onto this place. What a pleasant surprise! Room was pretty standard for a low budget hotel, but it was also clean and comfortable. It was quiet and had decent AC. The location was very convenient, right in the downtown and walk able to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! The staff was really nice and helpful. They continuously went above and beyond the expected. The rooms were very comfortable. The free breakfast was quite small, but for a fee you could up-grade. The scenery was stunning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel blind through Hotwire, and when the name was revealed, our hearts sank. According to the reviews that others gave, we were sure we were in for a night in a dump. Well, I can confidently say that the place is older and going shabby around the edges, but it is not a dump. The room was very large, and quite clean--we checked carefully for bedbugs and found no evidence. In addition, the bathroom (though small) was also pretty clean. We travel a lot and just have to shake our heads at others' experience here; maybe the place is really uneven in terms of quality and cleanliness, but our night had no issues whatsoever. In addition, the breakfast provided free in the restaurant (with coupon) was *much* better than we expected! Heaps of eggs, good thick-cut bacon, nicely browned French toast. The kitchen was a little slow, yes, but nothing at all wrong with the food in terms of portions or quality or taste. Also--the pool was very clean, and not freezing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#23 of 31 in Bozeman
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bozeman Inn
Bozeman Inn
#29 of 31 in Bozeman
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#19 of 31 in Bozeman
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Inn

Property: City Center Inn
Address: 507 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3466 (Formerly Magnuson Grand City Center)
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the spectacular Gallatin valley, surrounded by majestic mountain ranges and stunning views.Our spacious rooms and large comfy beds will provide you with the most quality and restful stay.With a full service of amenities and complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet your stayis sure to be relaxing or productive whichever you shall choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your City Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand City Hotel Bozeman
Best Western Bozeman
Bozeman Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing