We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner choice”
Review of Montana Ale Works

Montana Ale Works
Ranked #3 of 237 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wallace Street
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner choice”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had Steak and Sea Bass. They were both excellent. Definitely a busy place so reservations for the dining room are a must. Service was exceptional.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    438
    81
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is great! We went twice during the brief Bozeman visit. The variety of ales, many local, is fantastic and the food was great too. The Bison pot-stickers, the meatloaf and daily pasta were all excellent. Although not cheap, the prices seemed fair for the area. Expect a wait during popular times which seem to be all the time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwich, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat !!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

On our visit to Bozeman, we went there twice...to start and end our trip..great food and great wait staff...friendly and good service...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

A very solid restaurant on all counts. Montana Ale Works is a beautiful space, it is a wide open, huge dining areas, with a massive bar and great local beer selection. The restaurant is clean and the design and layout of the space is well done. I had read on line that this place was crowded, especially on the week end. I called up the restaurant at 2 PM and spoke to an extremely helpful and courteous individual. She answered all of my questions and made my reservation for a fairly large group of 12. We made early reservation for 5, any later and it would have been super busy. The service was great! It is so refreshing to have a server that is knowledgeable about the beer selection, the menu, and was willing to answer all questions with NO bad attitude. My wife and 14-year-old have to eat gluten free and it can be a pain in the butt, but our server was on top of it! So nice and accommodating. In fact, we found every experience in Bozeman like that. The people of Bozeman are amazing, sweet, and so nice. I ordered a couple local craft versions of an IPA and both were delicious. The food was very good. I split plates with my son, we had a Wagyu Montana grass-fed beef burger and 4 cheese macaroni. We ordered the burger medium and it came to us medium! It had some pink left in the middle and was everything you want in a burger, juicy, well-seasoned, and full of flavor. It was served with a side of Parmesan fries and they were a nice compliment. The 4 cheese mac had mozzarella, parmesan, white cheddar, and goat cheese. They were amazing! We ordered them with bacon crumbles, so that's kind of cheating, but the cheese was creamy, and the pasta was perfectly cooked. I loved the tang of the goat cheese. Everyone else seemed very happy with the choice they made. My daughter was able to order a burger with a gluten free bun, what a treat for her! She usually have to do it protein style where they wrap it in lettuce. She had a smile ear to ear! The prices were very good for the quality of food. Bozeman is a bit expensive and the prices here were well worth the food and service received. I highly recommend Montana Ale Works, it hits on all cylinders! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 505NewMexican505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Came to eat here based on reviews here on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The building had a nice industrial feel to it with a giant windowed beer cooler with kegs and bottles showing through. I had the Montana meatloaf which is a bacon wrapped bison, beef, and pork meatloaf topped with an onion gravy which was amazing. The restaurant was busy due to a music festival about 2 blocks down the road, but there was open seating at the bar so we sat there and ate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckie_css
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana Ale Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing