We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best find in the middle of Montana”
Review of Montana Ale Works

Montana Ale Works
Ranked #3 of 239 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wallace Street
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best find in the middle of Montana”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this restaurant after a long and beautiful drive across Montana. We were tired and thirsty and we were in luck. My husband was delighted with the Montana beer selections..so many choices and so little time. I had the lobster mushroom appetizer and it was amazing. Then I had the Asian chicken salad. The chicken was so tasty...it was must have locally grown. My husband had the Bison potstickers, which were delicious. Everything about the evening was delightful and the server was so knowledgeable and personable. We shared the a peach cobbler at the end of the meal. We can't wait for a return trip to Bozeman and another evening at the Montana Ale Works.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    450
    83
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We cannot say enough about our experience. The place was packed and noisy. Rather than wait 40 minutes for a table, we took one by the billiards in open seating. The service was outstanding and the food even better!!! I had the chicken enchiladas and my husband the New York strip. If you don't eat here you're missing out! Don't forget to try the beer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinAround2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gluten-free friendly”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had an unexpected wait on a Wednesday night but it was worth it. I'm from TN and dining at MAW was the first time I have been able to bite into a burger on a gluten-free bun in almost 2 years! The sensation was amazing! - not to mention they had gluten free beer to compliment my burger! Our waiter knew a lot not only about the menu but we were being nerds and had our map out on the table and he helped us pick some places to tour around. Great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mareliz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Level 6 Contributor
725 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went here thinking it was a brewpub only to find it was a restaurant that features maybe 40 specialty brews, mostly from MT and pacific northwest. Well, based on that, and my experience tasting over 1500 beers in my life, and as a former certified beer judge with the AHA, i can tell you MT is up there. Had one of the best Czech pilsners i've ever had anywhere, half a dozen other very good to superb beers. And the food. Great food. Big, bustling place in an old train shed. We went twice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Steak Meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fun place, very nice, upscale sports bar. Steaks are very tender and fresh, unique sides. Our area was relatively quiet with nice music playing and dim lighting so felt quite intimate. Staff was very attentive but a little too familiar, it fit the sports bar side though. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana Ale Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing