We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation held with a credit card...doesn't necessarily hold your reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Bozeman
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Reservation held with a credit card...doesn't necessarily hold your reservation”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Made a reservation via credit card. Credit cards are charged if you don't check-in by 4pm. No problem.....this is the policy of most hotels and we usually don't show up for a reservation until a few hours after check-in (3pm) anyway. We showed up for our reservation on June 22nd around 8pm. Upon hearing our name, the clerk looked at a paper which had items "highlighted" on it and then handed my husband a "letter of apology" from the general manager. Dear So and So, we are over-booked and have made a reservation for you at "X" hotel. Sorry for any inconveniece....blah...blah....blah.
They made arrangements for us to stay at another hotel in Bozeman. A sub-standard, $80 dollar a night hotel. Which they had already paid for.
My husband told the clerk that this was unacceptable and she called the G.M. at home and handed my husband the phone. The G.M. was rude and unprofessional to say the least. She said that there were people who had decided to extend their stay and because she couldn't physically make them vacate the room, the hotel had become "over-booked". And continued to explain how lucky we were that she had made us a reservation at the local roach motel and even paid for it and also "bought" us 5,000 Marriott points. Apparently, we were supposed to be ecstatic by the gesture of a "free" room at the other hotel. We were not.
We travel a lot. My husband travels weekly on business, staying 20 plus nights a month in hotels. This is the first time we have ever experienced this situation.
When we turned to leave, the desk clerk, bellows out....."Sir! The room at the hotel is already paid for!" My husband replied. "It's not about money". She seemed upset by this. (are there that many people who love to get something free, no matter the circumstances or what it is?)
We'd just driven 7 hours. We knew there weren't any acceptable vacancies in town, or the next 2 towns over for that matter. (I guess tourist season just started) Missoula was the next option, which caused us to drive over 3 more hours than we had planned. It was an irritating situation. Reservations held with a credit card are guaranteed. That has always been our experience.
Needless to say, we will not make another reservation at this Marriott property. In fact, we are done with Marriott with the exclusion of JW Marriotts which are amazing hotels with excellent service and know how to manage a hotel and reservation system.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bfulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    108
    39
    23
    10
See reviews for
125
85
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I stayed at the Residence Inn for several days on a combines business-sightseeing trip. I found the staff to be very friendly, the rooms were VERY large and comfortable and the rates were competitive. I loved having on-site self-serve laundry (bring quarters!).No question, I would stay here again when I come back to Bozeman!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profxfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi-Town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed at the RI twice during November and had wonderful stays on both occasions. The location is between the airport and the university which meets my needs.

The rooms are large and include a large bathroom, ample closet space, a nice kitchen area plus a large TV. Also, my rooms had views of the snow-capped mountains.

There is ample parking, plus two nice restaurants are within walking distance. However, visitors would need a car for a stay.

There is the standard breakfast which appeared to be fine but I did not partake, except for a quick coffee.

Also, the staff has always been very nice to us and attentive to our needs. I have always found this hotel to be very quiet. My only comment would be that the internet connection seems to be interrupted on occasion (but, that occurs everywhere).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_B10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed here twice on a recent trip--upon our arrival in Bozeman and the night before we flew out, so we had 2 different rooms, but with the same configuration. Desk on check-in great both times, but very different on check-out the first time. Our toilet had started running during the night, so I told the desk clerk and she seemed completely indifferent. Also no luggage racks in the room and no notice that it costs 50 cents to make a local call. Clerk said those were not provided in the room. It's not that I object to the 50 cents so much, but the info should be provided. On the second visit, changing the tv in the living room turned on the tv in the bedroom--very strange, but the 2 tv's were back to back on the same wall, so I guess the signal went through the wall.

Breakfast was good. On our second check-out, we left before the breakfast was officially ready, but they had yogurt and things like that available. Got a very good recommendation from the desk about where to order pizza for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. I wanted a hotel room with a refrigerator and microwave. I liked that we could buy drinks to keep cold in the room and didn't have to pay for them while we were out and about. We checked in late at night and were given an interior room with a view of the hotel itself, almost no sunlight came into the room. The next morning we called the front desk and asked to be moved to a different room. They were very nice about it. We moved across the hall. The new room had a view of the kitchen roof (beggars can't be choosers I guess) but we could see the mountains in the background. Free breakfast every morning. Eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, cereal, oatmeal, and more. The rooms are nice and roomy. No cramped hotel rooms here. Free internet service. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marytini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento Valley
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 788 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

May - June 2009. We changed our reservations for Bozeman at the last minute. Originally we were planning to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, which is nearby. But we found a sub $80.00 rate online for this property. In today's challenging economic times, we are always looking for value. This property is located next to the freeway. It is also convenient to historic downtown Bozeman as well as Montana State University. It is also located to two other lodging properties so you have choices.
There is plenty of free parking around this property.

Check-in was very fast and we received a studio room. The rate was below $80.00 using a group discount.
Our room was comfortable. The bed was comfortable but as others mentioned the linens were cheap and do slip off the mattress. Someone made a poor choice in purchasing them. Lighting in the room was very good with lamps on both sides of the bed, on the desk, and a floor lamp. The work desk was large and the office-style chair functional and comfortable. Our room had sleeper sofa and a comfortable arm chair.

The LCD flat screen TV’s worked fined.. The TV was had a lot of cable channels as well as a wide selection of pay-per-view movies. .

The bathroom was clean. Lighting was good, the towels were plentiful, and the shower worked well – immediate hot water with plenty of pressure. Bath amenities include shampoo, conditioner, and lotion.
The cleaning was not spotless. Lack of vacum? As mentioned in earlier reviews of this property, the walls and floors are not as solid as other Residence Inns, so there is some neighbor noise. Kitchen equipment were fined and it is plus to have a full fridge and microwave. There is complimentary breakfast which was good. I did notice some staff taking a long coffee break and chatting in the breakfast area which has limited sitting. Breakfast was a bit above average for Residence Inn properties. There is also free internet access and usage. There is a small gym and an indoor pool. The property is within a few years old. For the rate we paid it was good value and if you're not spending much time in the room it was alright but not one of the better Residence Inn properties that I have stayed at due to building, interiors and cleaning. For the value we might stay here again, if not then the nearby Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeminarTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This hotel has burnt us twice now! Dont pay with a debut card because they will charge more than your nights stay for Incidentals. We have had to wait more than a week to get our money back for these over chargings. They say this is policy, But I think its against the law to take more funds out of your personal account without permission. They also do not communicate this with the customers, you will just find out when you check your banking. Customer service at this hotel was lousy!!!! They will not work with you to fix any problems with your stay. Had to ask for several thing that were missing in the room that you would not have at another hotel. When do you not get a glass in your bathroom to brush your teeth? I wont reccommend this hotel to anybody nor will I ever stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MTswimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#4 of 31 in Bozeman
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
0.4 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bozeman West
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Bozeman, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bozeman

Property: Residence Inn Bozeman
Address: 6195 E Valley Center Rd, Bozeman, MT 59718-8041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bozeman
#10 Business Hotel in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bozeman 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Montana's Rocky Mountains, you will find the Residence Inn Bozeman hotel. This Bozeman, Montana hotel is just 90 miles from Yellowstone National Park, 45 miles from Big Sky Ski Resort, 16 miles from Bridger Bowl Ski Resort, and 6 miles from Montana State University, giving you convenient access to the area's top attractions. Our Bozeman hotel is designed to provide you with everything you need to thrive on long stays. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and end with appetizers Monday through Wednesday evenings. Melt tensions away at our pool, heated spa, and fitness center and relax in your spacious guest suite featuring separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. Our Bozeman hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet access and is pet friendly. Whether on a business trip or vacation getaway, let us help you to thrive while visiting Bozeman, Montana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bozeman Hotel Bozeman
Bozeman Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing