We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”
Review of BLACKSMITH ITALIAN

BLACKSMITH ITALIAN
Reserve with OpenTable
BLACKSMITH ITALIAN is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 239 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our first trip to this restaurant was for a special occasion, and the hope that it would become a favorite--it didn't. On the plus side, the service was impeccable. Downside: The noise level was at times so loud we couldn't hear our server--the restaurant can't be blamed for the acoustics, but the noise was very distracting--every sound carried. We had the gnocchi and oriechette with sausage, and both were ok, but nothing to get excited about. However, I thought the grilled caesar salad was awesome; husband not as thrilled with it. We got to-go boxes so we could have dessert--budino (I think it was butterscotch, but never tasted any butterscotch) sounded good; it wasn't. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't anything except tasteless, even though all the ingredients on the menu made it sound wonderful. My husband ordered something with lemon in the title, but we never did find lemon. The coffee was good. Well, we tried it and we won't go back; however, for others it might be great--just not our taste. Any review is subjective, and although this was not a horrible dinner, it just wasn't as good as we hoped for and we were really disappointed, considering all the press it's been getting. For truly good Italian, our favorite place is Fresco--give them both a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank durrae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Bozeman”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have dined At Blacksmith about 10 times!!! Both for lunch and dinner. My favorite dish is the orrechetti rustica. Everything is fresh and they use quality ingredients. The ownership makes you feel welcome and honestly no other Italian restaurant in Bozeman is close to this this place! In fact my wife who is of Italian heritage had them cater our Christmas Eve dinner! The service is excellent and I can't really find any negatives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Imaginative and Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We visited Blacksmith Italian last week on a Friday evening. We were greeted right away and shown to our table by a pleasant and welcoming hostess. The menu length was just about right-one page-with plenty to choose from but not too many as to be overwhelming. The two of us shared a starter of calamari puttanesca which was excellent. The calamari were very lightly breaded and cooked perfectly so they were very tender. They were served over a slightly spicy red sauce that complemented the light taste of the seafood. Our second course was the anchovy salad. The greens were fresh and lightly coated with a tasty vinaigrette. The white anchovies, placed on the top, were of high quality, but we did decide that they still don't like anchovies much. My manicotti was unusual but delicious. The filling was put into thin crepes, along with the interesting addition of braised kale. The tomato sauce covering the dish was good. My husband's Tuscan steak was a good cut but just a bit over-cooked. Also, his accompanying potato wedges were not quite done. We did mention the potatoes to our wait staff and were given a comp dessert in response. On the whole, it was a very pleasant dinner. The service was good and our bottle of wine was excellent. The place itself is very noisy, however, and it would be difficult to try to converse with a table of friends. I would suggest they consider adding some acoustical modifiers, such as tapestries on the walls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Lucky to have in Bozeman!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This placed is a gem! I have lived in Providence, RI where there is some of the best Italian restaurants and have traveled extensively to major cites known for good Italian food. This is right up there with the best. Excellent, freshly made dishes, nice wine list and excellent craft brews by Bozeman Brewing Company. The service is excellent. this is for sure a bucket list place to visit when in Bozeman!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blacksmith Italian isn't quite italian”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We dined with friends last night at Blacksmith Italian and found it to be disappointing. First, the pros: our server did a fine job. The wine list was good, with a fair selection of italian wines and 2x pricing. The 'arancini florentine' side plate was OK but if you've ever had a real italian arancino you would be sorely disappointed in these black-colored rice balls. The wild salmon risotto was tasty but the risotto did not appear to be made with italian arborio rice, but with some kind of desperately over-cooked soupy long grain rice. The Orecchiette Rustica were dismal little things, tasteless and tough in a tomato sauce that was surely not made with good San Marzano tomatoes. The Butterscotch Budino dessert was grainy and pretty much tasteless. We couldn't finish it. Overall, hard to describe much of any of this as italian. I've spent 10 wonderful trips in italia from north to south and haven't encountered food like this, there (thankfully). Seating was shoulder-to-shoulder and accoustics were poor and thus the room was very noisy. Want some good genuine italian food in the Bozeman area? Visit D'amasco's in Belgrade (of all places!) or try Black Bird in Bozeman.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLACKSMITH ITALIAN also viewed

 

Been to BLACKSMITH ITALIAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing