We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals spot”
Review of Pickle Barrel - CLOSED

Pickle Barrel
Restaurant details
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Locals spot”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Popular lunch spot with the locals. Good deli style sandwiches and super yummy ice cream. Good for all ages. Kids love to come here for the ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Downhill”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have been to the PB since the early 90s about every 5 years or so off and on. Somewhere in the late nineties they seemed to shrink their bread and/or sandwiches & the quality of some ingredients went down.
Big sandwiches. That's the thing with this place. They're big and you get a free pickle from a barrel. The staff have always been a bit "ehh", as if they out take it or leave it, but I was getting a sandwich not a consultation.
Overall it's a good place that's lost it's game a bit over the years & needs to lift its game just a bit. Maybe a bit of not paying attention by the owner(s) or something, but I've gone off them. Something that used to be unique one can get better quality and value at Costco. But, as a place right next to a university, they'll always have students, so what should they care?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Jimmy John's Eat Your Heart Out!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok, I'm going to date myself here but I first ate at the Pickle Barrel in '78 when I was a student at MSU. It was great then, and the fact that 34 years later it's standing room only is a testament to how great it still is. Now, realize that when you order a "whole" sandwich, that's a full loaf of french bread. A "half" sandwich is still a lot. It's not uncommon to hear people order a "half cut in half". If you like hot sandwiches, the mushroom steak and pepper steak are famous. The turkey is just as good. And don't forget to dip your pickle out of the pickle barrel (yes, they really have one). If you only eat in one place in Bozeman in your lifetime, it has to be the Pickle Barrel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Montana_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST Sub EVER”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been eating Pickle Barrel subs for over 30 years. They're huge, the bread is fantastic, the ingredients fresh and the ambience charming and authentic. The freebie pickles are great, too. It's one of those mom and pop places for lunch that I pray never leaves. It's fast, it's friendly and you will NOT go away hungry.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank marion n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite Sandwich Place”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome, I eat there probably twice a week at least. Try the Blue Streak, Mushroom Steak, or Pepper Steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickle Barrel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing